COMPUTER QUESTION??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-12-2013, 01:52 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
texasstroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 206
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
COMPUTER QUESTION???

I do not have any 99 to 03 trucks right now to look at so I am asking for your help.

I just bought a 1999 FORD CREW CAB 2WD, someone lifted and added some high dollar tires and wheels to then they sprayed the body with bedliner mess too. Here is what I am looking for, they had some sort of chip in this truck with a turn knob on the dash. I am guessing either when they traded it in they removed the chip out of the computer and it is setting there with nothing in the slot.... Does something need to be put back or can it be left empty? The stuff I have used on my other trucks never went into the computer box itself, alway used the OBDII conector or plugged in under the hood so I am lost.
Thanks,
This is a 7.3L diesel, automatic truck
texasstroker is offline  
post #2 of 11 Old 04-12-2013, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
texasstroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 206
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
After further checking this truck has had a TS Performance 6 pos. chip in it and someone has removed the part that goes into the computer of the truck. The truck will not start right now. It turns over good, all the gauges work but will not start.
texasstroker is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-12-2013, 03:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,204
Thanks: 7
Thanked 233 Times in 224 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
What exactly does it still have though? I mean, if the rotary switch is gone, and the "part that goes into the computer" is gone? What's left???

Do you get a WTS Light when you first roll-on the Key? (that shows the computer runs...)

To cover that "slot" in the PCM case, there's only a plastic door that you don't actually need.
NoRalPh is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-12-2013, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
texasstroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 206
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The actual chip that plugs into the computer is gone.
Yes I get a WTS light and all other lights come on that should when turning the key on..... Truck is turning over just not even trying to fire. Have checked the oil level and is full, that is about as far as I got today. Hope to get further into on Monday. Was just starting at the puter to see if I was missing something or not.

Should the tact move when trying to start or not? This one will move up to around 200/300 and stay when turing over.
texasstroker is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-12-2013, 07:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
schlutzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 2,437
Thanks: 34
Thanked 136 Times in 120 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tach should move, sounds like you're good to go.


I would wrap some electrical tape to keep any water out of that hole though
schlutzer is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-12-2013, 08:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
schlutzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 2,437
Thanks: 34
Thanked 136 Times in 120 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I didn't even read the not starting part.

Check the easy things. Fuel pressure, battery voltage, and since the truck has been messed with. Get an ohm meter and check every fuse.
schlutzer is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-13-2013, 05:23 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,204
Thanks: 7
Thanked 233 Times in 224 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
From my "No Start" list...

Is there fuel in the fuel bowl now? Does it refill after cranking? (open the drain level to check)

Can you hear/feel the pump running (below the dr seat, against the framerail)

Could the fuel gauge be giving a bad reading? (is it Below 1/4 tank?)

Did you check the plug and sheet metal nut going to the IPR? That nut can vibrate off and allow the solenoid going over the valve to slide around. The wires going to the IPR can get brittle, crack, and short together. Make sure the plug & wires look in good shape.

Monitoring the battery voltage is a good idea (as schlutzer suggested). On a '99 if it drops too low the PCM won't even try to start.

NoRalPh is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-13-2013, 09:55 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
texasstroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 206
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys, will check your list of items first thing Monday when I get back to work.... Will check fuel level first thing cause the gauge is reading completely full right now and it hard to believe someone would trade it in full. I have found a couple of fuses out so far and buying new batteries Monday just to be sure.
texasstroker is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-15-2013, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
texasstroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 206
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, Still no run.... Checked every single fuse, relay in this truck, did find 1 connector that someone had unplugged on the lower side of the fuel filter housing. Has new fuel pump that is working, has fuel in the filter housing but not completely full.
As much as I hate to say, I did use starting fluid and it does run as long as I am spraying the fluid into it.
Also check to see if there was any codes and nothing was found.
WHAT NOW???
texasstroker is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-15-2013, 08:03 PM
Premium Member
 
Macon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,804
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If it fires with ether, then it sounds like a fuel related problem. Don't use the ether anymore. What did you use to check codes? Not all readers are equal on these trucks.

2002 F250 CCSB 4x4
PHP Phoenix, John Woods VB, NUC bypass, 6637

"No country can be called free which is governed by an absolute power;
and it matters not whether it be an absolute royal power or an absolute
legislative power, as the consequences will be the same to the people."

--Thomas Paine, Four Letters on Interesting Subjects, 1776
Macon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome