140hp tune on stock truck. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
140hp tune on stock truck.

I'm gonna be grabbing up a 6pos tuner from KTperformance. I do take my truck to the track every once in a while and am trying to decide what tunes i should include for track days. My truck is a 99, only mods are air intake and mbrp 4 inch exhaust. Would my truck benfiet from the 120 or 140hp race settings, or would i need upgraded injectors and fuel pump to utilize it. I read that a stock truck runs best on the 80hp tunes and gets bogged down with the higher tunes, any truth to this? I have an edge evo right now and my truck runs solid with the 100hp setting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
also. i have a replacement engine in my truck i got from a ford dealership, its got about 15k on it now, but im guessing its got PMR's, would it be safe to run the 140hp setting on it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 3,185
Thanks: 13
Thanked 79 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya with good tunes you will notice a difference.
a few tuners wont sell you the 140hp setting cause of your pmr motor but most will.
but you would be fine cause you will be far under 400hp.
their is a big difference between edge products and a custom tuned chip.
so yes you will notifce a difference from 100hp to 120-140hp tunes.

oh and i hope you have gauges too!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:35 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mt. Carmel
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
IMO when i had my 7.3 i had a dp tuner and it actually ran better on the 120 setting vs 140, but i also had stock hpop and stock injectors. And no you do not need upgraded injectors or hpop to run the higher hp settings, you would just be getting the full benefit out of the 140 setting if you did.
Also suggest getting a set of guages, egt,boost and trans.
egt being most important boost just for fun and trans if ur towing heavy....

And do you kno what year truck ur motor came out of ?, 99-late 2000 all had forged rods but besides that point,yes you will be fine weather its forged or pmrs, pmrs are good for at least 450-500 hp but like i said above you will not see the full benefit of the 140hp setting because of the fact that ur still on stock injectors and hpop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-12-2013, 10:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So the engine would be safe with a 140hp tune as long as im not pushin 400hp? The engine was a new crate engine i got from ford 2 years ago, i'm not sure if it has pmr's or not but i'm assuming id does. I plan on leaving my edge hooked up just for the gauges and high idle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-13-2013, 07:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mt. Carmel
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes the engine would be safe either way, weather ur pushing 400 or not imo i wouldnt worry about pmrs until the 450 range but you would be nowhere near 450 or 400
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-13-2013, 02:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 3,185
Thanks: 13
Thanked 79 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you will be fine

ya i would just use the edge for gauges, im guessing you have the cts with a monitor or something like that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors