2002 F350 4x4 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2013, 06:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 2002 F350 4x4

Okay fellas, I'm new to the diesel community (sort of), I work for John Deere as a mechanic. I know a little about diesel engines, but know nothing as far as tuning. I have an 02 F350 single cab single rear wheel 4x4. Obviously has the 7.3 engine, and has around 200k miles on it. It's mostly a toy hauler but I like to play too! I want to add a tuner primarily to increase fuel economy, but also power option is never a bad thing. I am also going to be putting some new injectors in it soon. So basically, what I'm getting to is I want this thing to sound and operate like a mean strokin machine. I wanna hear that turbo whistle and I want the horsepower to go along with it, but I'm not sure where to start as far as brands, what are the first things I should upgrade, and things I should look at for. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am ready to tackle this thing! Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2013, 08:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
From my '02 (and of course you don't have to do it all or in any particular order...)

Make it Breath -> 4" exhaust / Ford AIS filter (or the 6637 "universal filter")

Gauges to monitor the EGT's And Trans Temp (factory is useless here)

Tuning - 6pos chip by one of the "good" guys (PHP, TW, Beans, DP, etc)

End the "in balance" in the Fuel & HiPres Oil design (FRX & crossover to the heads)

Whistle - remove the foil from the IC tube and add a WickedWheel

Trans - valvebody (JW or BTS) and replace the cooler with a 6.0's cooler