Grounded loop and auto enginuity question. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 04-06-2013, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
schlutzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Thanks: 34
Thanked 135 Times in 119 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Grounded loop and auto enginuity question.

Okay I have an auto enginuity and a crappy laptop. The battery life on the laptop during the daytime (full screen brightness so you can see) is about 20 minutes. I plan on getting a windows 8 tablet as AE can run of them apparently, but not for a while.

Using a power invertor and charging the laptop off that cigarette lighter while plugged into the PCM is a big no-no because they share a circuit I know that.

My truck also has a "power point" right beside the airbag on/off switch. And I think this is on a different circuit. I know it's on a different fuse.

Am I understanding the grounded loop issue right? I should be able to charge the laptop off that power point, and be plugged into the PCM right?
schlutzer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-07-2013, 01:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Jackson's Hole, WY
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would say no.

I had a 97 that I tried to run the laptop off a direct tap from the batteries and it had a ground loop issue with that. The only way I can think of not have the ground loop issue is to use a Isolated ground inverter, though I never tried it.

99 F350 CCLB 67k miles.

Sold: 01 Dodge cummins ECLB a few more mods to 353hp

Sold: 97 F250 SCLB, 5 speed 2wd. minor mods to 327hp

See a pattern? next I will have to find one of those 6 door jobbers...
Big Bird is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-07-2013, 06:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,967
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 204 Times in 195 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I remember seeing Burnt Pins in a USB cable when doing this. AE says it's a Big N0-N0 and you can't do it no matter where you pull power from. It's not about something as simple as a ground circuit that's shared with the PCM.

Do you have a Starter Pak? You know, one of those 12v portable jump start batteries? If you kept that charged (how many of us have 1/2 charged starter paks ) and plugged the inverter into that it should last a good, long, time...
NoRalPh is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-07-2013, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
schlutzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Thanks: 34
Thanked 135 Times in 119 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So basically I would need a third battery, with a circuit on its own.

Windows 8 tablet it is lol
schlutzer is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-07-2013, 01:04 PM
Premium Member
 
Macon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, additional battery would be the way. But, any excuse to get a new toy!

2002 F250 CCSB 4x4
PHP Phoenix, John Woods VB, NUC bypass, 6637

"No country can be called free which is governed by an absolute power;
and it matters not whether it be an absolute royal power or an absolute
legislative power, as the consequences will be the same to the people."

--Thomas Paine, Four Letters on Interesting Subjects, 1776
Macon is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-07-2013, 01:25 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
schlutzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Thanks: 34
Thanked 135 Times in 119 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Actually hang on. As I understand it.


I could run a third battery and have it charged off the alternator, just anything I run off it needs to ground back to the battery itself, not to the body/frame? That would be simple enough. And I have a load of 0/1 sitting around.
schlutzer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome