New Horse for the Stable (Truck) Programmer Problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2008, 08:45 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Horse for the Stable (Truck) Programmer Problem

Hey guys just bought 7.3 truck this week. This is my truck I,m going to build for a toy and silver lake sand dunes. I have a small problem. I bought it at an auction and when I went to program the computer with my Superchips it said the truck was not stock and wouldn't program it. My question is how do I get around this. I will be purchasing either a T.W. Chip or DP Tuner will these chips just stack on whatever is already there? It doesn't feel like it has a performance program installed on it compared to my other truck (same year). The only thing that feels different are the transmissions shift points. if I can't use the Superchips and can use a TW or DP I will be selling a Superchips Flashpaq that is 6 months old if anyone is interested. Sorry about the biography
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-2008, 08:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kearney Nebraska
Posts: 2,082
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
they will not stack. I cant remeber if the tuning thats on it will override the dp or tw or if its the other way around. I would get ahold of who you bought it from and see it the prveious owner had it tuned
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-02-2008, 10:13 AM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Check the PCM for a chip in it. If it will not program, it usually has a chip in there already. I just went through this with a local guy.

All you need to do to check is: Take out the two 7mm bolts holding the CPM cage in place. It is next to the e-brake. then pull one cage to the right a little and kind of twist counter clockwise and pull. It should pull out about 2-2.5" so you can see in the back of the PCM. Then if it has a black rectangular cap with numbers on it, it does not have a chip. If there is no cap, there is or was a chip in it. If the is a chip in it you have some options then.

Make sure the key is out of the ignition, out, not just off. OUT!

Take a look and report back,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-02-2008, 01:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Pwrstroke View Post
they will not stack. I cant remeber if the tuning thats on it will override the dp or tw or if its the other way around. I would get ahold of who you bought it from and see it the prveious owner had it tuned
I would love to talk to the previous owner but I bought it at an auction. They will not disclose any information about the owner. I will look to see if there is or was a chip in the PCM tomorrow.Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-02-2008, 02:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kearney Nebraska
Posts: 2,082
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
any luck findin aything
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-02-2008, 05:39 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Didn't really mess with it today. Changed all the fluids and filters, man that's a pain! It isn't cheap either. Just spent the day checking and lubing things. Tomorrow I will dig in to the programmer issue along with doing a few mods (Zoodad, straight pipe, DIY intake) Thanks I will keep you posted and I'm sure asking more questions along the way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors