Battery Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2008, 07:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 905
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Battery Question

So i was readin up on the DIY intake post. And i read that you should dissconect the battery for at least 1 hour. Was wondering what the reason for this is???? I have never heard of this before.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:23 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I would not worry about taking the battery loose. But that is me. I have never taken the batteries loose for an intake swap and I have done a total of 4 intakes on my truck over the years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 905
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokin_early_99 View Post
I would not worry about taking the battery loose. But that is me. I have never taken the batteries loose for an intake swap and I have done a total of 4 intakes on my truck over the years.
yea, but i think the 03 is diff. i had to pull some of the plastic battery cover off and i had to disconnect the battery to do so.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:32 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Tell me how your two batteries are different than my 2 batteries? An AFE stage 2 is an AFE stage 2, no matter what year you still have to take one battery loose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 905
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokin_early_99 View Post
I would not worry about taking the battery loose. But that is me. I have never taken the batteries loose for an intake swap and I have done a total of 4 intakes on my truck over the years.
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokin_early_99 View Post
Tell me how your two batteries are different than my 2 batteries? An AFE stage 2 is an AFE stage 2, no matter what year you still have to take one battery loose.
?????? now i am confused.


do you have a plastic cover over your driver sidce battery?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:40 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
No I do not. But the intakes I have put in my truck have required me take out the driver side battery.

I guess I should have stated I have never taken both batteries loose. Only the driver side batter has ever come out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 905
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well i had to take the driver battery cables loose to get the plastic cover off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:44 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The only reason I have ever herd of taking the batteries loose for 1 hour is to clear codes. I wonder what that has to do with a DIY intake.....I am in agreement with you there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 905
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokin_early_99 View Post
The only reason I have ever herd of taking the batteries loose for 1 hour is to clear codes. I wonder what that has to do with a DIY intake.....I am in agreement with you there.
i have heard about clearing codes too. but on the DYI i am clue less.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors