code questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2008, 07:25 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Great Falls, MONTANA
Posts: 1,164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
code questions

What kind of code will a autozone or equivalent code reader not pickup, I have a es light but there code reader will not pick it up or erase it. Truck is stalling while driving ive already had new cps (from recall) put in and new fuel filter. And just wondering if there is only a certain code that the reader wont catch. Ford does not open till monday and i kind of need this truck to run. Thanks for thehelp.:c onfused:
This happened after i installed ts that might not be right for my computer but i removed it and prob is still there???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-26-2008, 07:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Ky
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my understanding is the auto zone scanner wont pickup any codes on thes truck Good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-26-2008, 07:32 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Great Falls, MONTANA
Posts: 1,164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its read codes before on it but some reason it wont pick themup
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-26-2008, 07:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
they will pickup some but i think i read idm codes or something like that wont work with "cheap" scanners, really i have almost no idea
good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:07 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Effort/Nanticoke,Pa.
Posts: 5,441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sawyer did you say this started happening after the wrong TS chip was put in ??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:17 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Great Falls, MONTANA
Posts: 1,164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah thats what i think its the wrong one It seems to work when installed but after like five miles it will shut off. The ts when installed had a water in fuel light and ses but ran fine. ive cleaned the terminals there spotless. then i took it out and the problem is still there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:27 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Effort/Nanticoke,Pa.
Posts: 5,441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would disconnect your batteries and let it sit for a while then reconnect them. This may reset your PCM. You have the stock chip in now right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:32 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Great Falls, MONTANA
Posts: 1,164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its stock besides the 18k module from defuser (like 10kmod) Since the ts iv had the batteries unhooked do the cables have to touch or do the headlights hav to be on to reset iv heard something like that iv had them unhooked and hasnt done anything(had them unhooked while taking the ts out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:45 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Great Falls, MONTANA
Posts: 1,164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
could this be the icp sensor or pcm is fried truck will still start and run but will die when it wants to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:49 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Effort/Nanticoke,Pa.
Posts: 5,441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmmmm.... i would have thought having the batteries unhooked you wouldn't have these problems. I had heard someone say you can touch the negative wire to the positive post also to clear the PCM but whether it's true or not i have no idea. I've heard nothing about the headlight thing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors