Removing Edge tuner? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2013, 11:53 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yelm Wa
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Removing Edge tuner?

I have did some searching but didn't find what I was looking for. I got a 01 F250 and want to remove the Edge Attitude tuner and run the truck stock. I have found threads on installing one but none for removing them. Is it safe to say it is the opposite as the install? Is there a simple way to just disable it and keep it for now so I can watch my EGT?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-16-2013, 02:05 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,535
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just unplug it from the OBDII port. Problem solved. I do believe there is a "Stock" setting as well, which will allow you to keep the gauges, if you like that setup. Otherwise, pull it, sell it, buy what you're wanting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-16-2013, 02:17 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yelm Wa
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sweet its coming out and gonna get my trans fixed and then some gauges and look into a good custom tune and drive it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-16-2013, 04:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think you should use the edge to set it back to the stock setting, then just remove it. Of course, if you want to use it for the gauge function, it should still work as such, even on the stock setting. That is my plan, I intend to swap my DP Tuner from the yellow dually to the Excursion, as the dually is sitting most of the time, and the Ex gets driven daily.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-16-2013, 05:31 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yelm Wa
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not sure which is the stock setting 1 is mileage, 2 is tow, 3 is drive, 4 is I believe race, and 5 is extreme. The setting that just says drive I assume is stock? That's what I've been running it in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-16-2013, 05:38 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yelm Wa
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macon View Post
Just unplug it from the OBDII port. Problem solved. I do believe there is a "Stock" setting as well, which will allow you to keep the gauges, if you like that setup. Otherwise, pull it, sell it, buy what you're wanting.
Dosent seem to be plugged into the OBDII port unless its spliced in way up in the dash but nothing visible by the port.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-16-2013, 08:06 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,535
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If it's not plugged into the OBD port, I don't know what to tell you. It's either there, it's not, or the previous owner is an a$$clown that wanted to cut wires that didn't need cut. If the display comes on, it's plugged in.

I'm going to sound like an *** with the next question, but bear with me, as I've dealt with folk that have had no maintenance experience at all. The "plug" you say it's not plugged in to, is it the one directly to the right of the steering wheel, right beneath the plastic?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-16-2013, 09:24 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yelm Wa
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Macon it's cool I know what and where the OBDII port is I pulled that plastic panel off and followed the harness coming off the plug and it goes up into the dash. There is the connector that comes in the kit in line with the one coming off the gas pedal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-18-2013, 12:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: oceanside, CA
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunnzz View Post
I'm not sure which is the stock setting 1 is mileage, 2 is tow, 3 is drive, 4 is I believe race, and 5 is extreme. The setting that just says drive I assume is stock? That's what I've been running it in.
I have the same one and the drive setting is not stock. If you really rail on it the CEL will come on. It should be setting 1 if you go in and out of it it will say mileage or stock, it has said both for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-18-2013, 04:07 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yelm Wa
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well for the first time it went to a setting of 0 which it says is stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors