Chips, Calibration Codes, and Cheap Parts - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Chips, Calibration Codes, and Cheap Parts

A buddy of mine recently wrecked his truck, so he made me a pretty good offer on some of his parts. I picked up his full gauge setup with pillar (banks boost, egt, and trans) and an 80hp Banks Big Hoss chip for 200 bucks. The only issue I'm having is that his truck was an 01 and mine is a 2000, all other things the same. Will I have to get the chip reburned for my vehicle calibration code, or are the two years similar?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: baton rouge, louisiana
Posts: 217
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to birddog
pretty sure they're identical bud as long as you have the same trans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-14-2008, 04:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So if I install the chip, will it either run or not? Like what are the potential issues with not getting it reprogrammed? Are there other features that may not operate properly? Thanks so much,

-justin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-15-2008, 05:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone? I'm hesitant to risk messing up my truck by just plugging it in and running it, but in the same breath I don't want to pay the 50 dollar reflashing fee if it's not needed...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-15-2008, 05:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Harrisville Mississippi
Posts: 484
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You will burn up the computer or ecm in your truck my buddie done that. Ford had different ecm codes for each year. had a friend that bought a chip and done that and the chip not being burned for his truck caused that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-17-2008, 07:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 690
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well too bad for you but i have an 01 you can send to me just so it doesnt collect dust
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors