Can I add a tach? How? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 01-11-2008, 09:44 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dieselcrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can I add a tach? How?

I'd like to add a tach to my E-350 van... no factory tach, is there somewhere to pick up the signal, and a gauge that would read it? Any ideas?
Thanks...

Greg

'99 E350 DRW Stahl 11' util box van, 7.3 PSD, stock. 138k SOLD

'00 F350 extcab, 9' utility bed, dually 221k

E'99 F250 extcab, S/Bed 211k

'00 Excursion Limited, 7.3PSD 281k

'84 Chevy K-30, 6.2L TD, woods/trail beater. 141k

Semper Paratus
dieselcrawler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-11-2008, 11:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
6LCummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PowerPussy, Killer, USA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Autometer has a Diesel tach that runs off your alternator. I have one on my truck and it is pretty accurate as long as your belt doesnt slip. I would recommend gettin ahold of Raul at Stealth Automotive, he can set you up with a really good price and has great customer service. This is the tach i have in my truck, Auto Meter . but here is a link to the three diesel tachs Autometer offers Auto Meter
6LCummins is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-14-2008, 09:15 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dieselcrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was wondering if there was a way to pick up the signal from the stock wiring harness... as in, where would the factory gauge get it's signal from, and can it be read by an aftermarket gauge? If so, how, and what gauge would work?

I've heard of the ones that use a signal from the alt, but am courious about other options... How hard is it to calibrate the type that use the alt sending unit?

Thanks...

Greg

'99 E350 DRW Stahl 11' util box van, 7.3 PSD, stock. 138k SOLD

'00 F350 extcab, 9' utility bed, dually 221k

E'99 F250 extcab, S/Bed 211k

'00 Excursion Limited, 7.3PSD 281k

'84 Chevy K-30, 6.2L TD, woods/trail beater. 141k

Semper Paratus
dieselcrawler is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-14-2008, 12:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
6LCummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PowerPussy, Killer, USA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not really hard, just need a way to read RPM, a digital hand held tach will work, and a tiny screw driver to dial in the tach. Took us maybe 5 min to dial it in.
6LCummins is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-15-2008, 08:48 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dieselcrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone know of any other options? If the vehicle doesn't have a factory tach, does the wiring harnes even have the right wires and sending units in place? Or is it thru the PCM? I know a couple of you guys are ford factory techs who work on these trucks daily, any input on this?

Thanks...

Greg

'99 E350 DRW Stahl 11' util box van, 7.3 PSD, stock. 138k SOLD

'00 F350 extcab, 9' utility bed, dually 221k

E'99 F250 extcab, S/Bed 211k

'00 Excursion Limited, 7.3PSD 281k

'84 Chevy K-30, 6.2L TD, woods/trail beater. 141k

Semper Paratus
dieselcrawler is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-06-2008, 11:50 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tach signal from pcm

i think the tach signal comes from pin 19 on the pcm. a factory wiring diagam will help you for this. if you compare the e series to the f series you will see that they very similar.
01manualvan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome