Here is where I started where do I go first - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 06:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is where I started where do I go first

Newbie here and need some help. I just bought a 99.5 f250 crew cab 7.3 220,000 miles. I know it had new injectors 4-5 years ago and ball joints 3-4 years ago. Changed filters and fluids. It has loose steering and likes to wonder a little. Left 4x4 hub is froze up and had a bad vacuum pump that I replaced but still have a leak. O and fuel gauge is stuck.

I am trying to figure out what I should do first and what would be best return on investment to make sure it all works right before I start adding any performance stuff. Read a lot of post and think I am confusing myself. Already did air intake mod. Wanting to know what the first 5-6 things you would clean, change, fix,etc to make it run better, be reliable, perform better overall.

O and bought the truck for $4k, body little ruff but motor and tranny seemed strong. Hope it wasn't a bad deal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2013, 07:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

There's a lot that could be recommended ...
Gauges - pyro, trans, boost (my forth one is an aeroforce scan gauge) in my quad pillar
Coolant filtration - the one I'm gonna get is from dieselsite.com
Hutch/harpoon mod (in tank fuel mod)
Pre fuel pump filter
Exhaust - 4" turbo back
Fix your fuel gauge issue
Fix vacuum issue
Have you greased the front end
If 4x4 check transfer case
Flush transmission and add transmission filter kit
You could add a tru cool transmission cooler or get a 6.0 powerstroke transmission cooler

Most of this is monitoring/maintanence/preventive
Old 02-27-2013, 06:48 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie