Glow plug omhs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2007, 07:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Ky
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Glow plug omhs

Ok im getting kicken chicken 101 out .Put miltimeter on glow plugs before i put the valve covers back on it . I read you should have the meter on 2k resetance checked plugs got omhs read 0.00 on all of them put it to checking straight up omhs 7 of them had 0.05 an 1 had 0.06 am i good or am i idiot im no electrian im a boiler operator. Man thats smooth. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-2007, 07:57 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
.01-2.0 ohms is the resistance range...so theoretically all your glow plugs are fine...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-28-2007, 07:59 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,712
Thanks: 29
Thanked 56 Times in 53 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
less than 2 ohms is fine (according to haynes/chilton manuals). 2K ohms is the incorrect value, the entire system would only draw 50mA!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Ky
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what i thought Thanks marc lets get some more chicken smooth.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Ky
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
all were .05 and.o6 thanks that saves 100 bucks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-29-2007, 04:27 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 41 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you are good to go!! Remember if the GPR tests bad you should use the Stancor unit. Don't mess around with the OEM or auto store replacement.
NCHornet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors