truck made for canda?????? high beam problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2007, 02:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: WB, MI
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to teamcasslake
truck made for canda?????? high beam problem

just picked up my new truck, its a 2000 CC SB 7.3L and the guy i bought it from said that the truck was made for Canada and that the law in canada is that the headlights have to be somewhat on all the time. so my truck is wire so that the headlights turn on really dim when u turn the key on.

how do i take this of or un-wire this feature? can i pull a fuse or something???

also my high beam headlights dont work how could i find out why???

if it means anything when i got the truck i had to put new bulbs in because the other ones got hot and broke and also melted part of the headlight.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Cj Ford Send a message via Yahoo to Cj Ford
pull the fuse for the daytime running lights... I did it to mine I hate the daytime running lights on during the day..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:21 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
There is no fuse for the daytime lights. If you pull the fuse you loose the head lights, period.

In front of the battery on the sheet metal you will find a plug that is surrounded in perforated metal. That is the daytime relay. Unplug the harness from the relay and the daytime lights will not come on. Wrap the harness end in tape so it will not corrode and do any damage. Then tuck it down out of the way and you are done.

Head light really is probably fried. I can't remember which one. Pull the cover on the fuse box under the hood and have someone pull the lever to make the high beams come on to see if you can hear the relay click. I will do some research and post back.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Cj Ford Send a message via Yahoo to Cj Ford
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokin_early_99 View Post
There is no fuse for the daytime lights. If you pull the fuse you loose the head lights, period.
you have given a lot of great info on here and are always right.. but this time your not..I did it to my truck the first week i got it.. I still have head lights and everything else...I just pulled a fuse.. and Ill go out side right now and see what fuse it was..

on my 95 f150 I unplugged the drl module on the rad cradle to disable it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Cj Ford Send a message via Yahoo to Cj Ford
I just came in from outside under the hood in the power distribution box/center fuse # 12 is a red 10 amp fuse.. it is the power fuse for the drl resistor pull it the drls will go out ... you will have all the rest of your lights still... I have this done on my 99 F250 and my 99 F550 flatbed and they have been that way for along time
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-26-2007, 07:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: WB, MI
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to teamcasslake
thanx guys i will try that tomorrow when i go to work on the truck at my dads shop..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-26-2007, 07:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Cj Ford Send a message via Yahoo to Cj Ford
make sure you pull the right fuse though...lol

its # 12 its infront of the maxi fuse on the driverside
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-26-2007, 08:23 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Well I have a little different fuse box in my Canadian truck. I do not have a # 12 fuse, there is a metal bridge in the # 12 slot. I just went and checked to make sure I was not talking out my *** and there is no fuse to take out. Just a metal piece that is in the place of the fuse that has been there since I have owned the truck, since 1999.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-26-2007, 08:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Cj Ford Send a message via Yahoo to Cj Ford
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokin_early_99 View Post
Well I have a little different fuse box in my Canadian truck. I do not have a # 12 fuse, there is a metal bridge in the # 12 slot. I just went and checked to make sure I was not talking out my *** and there is no fuse to take out. Just a metal piece that is in the place of the fuse that has been there since I have owned the truck, since 1999.
did you try to pull the metal bridge out to see if the drls will go out??? that's where the fuse is supposed to be according to the owners manual and both my trucks had a 10 amp fuse in that spot..it is a fuse for the drl resistor.. i don't know why yours wouldn't have a fuse. what would stop it from melting the wires if you had a short in the drl circuit then? thats weird..

if you have time someday try pulling the metal bridge out and see if they will go out with the module plugged in still.. just for future resolve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-26-2007, 08:53 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I will play with it tomorrow in the daylight. I will see what happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors