Noob looking at 2001 F-250 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2007, 07:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Noob looking at 2001 F-250

I'm new to Ford diesel pickups. I've had F-150's since 1992 but no diesels.
I need a 4 door with the kids and all so I found a nice 2001 F-250 2 w.d., crew cab, 7.3 with 40,000 miles on it for 16k at a local dealer. The truck looks mint in and out. Looks perfect for what I need. My question is what can I expect for fuel mileage around town and on the highway? This will be my daily driver so mileage is important. My commute is short but I still end up putting 15k per year on my car. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks
Joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-21-2007, 03:20 AM
Banned

Send a message via MSN to Blue01F250 Send a message via Yahoo to Blue01F250
That truck will get you about 14-15 in town and a good guess of 17-19 on the highway (all depending on your speed)

that truck is almost identical to mine and those are what I get -- sinec I've added a bedcover and run additive, I can get almost 21 on the hwy if I keep it under 70!!! It puts our old 97 F120 extended cab to shame!

also, that sounds like a HELLUVA deal on that low a mileage truck -- make sure they give you a copy of your oasis so you can make sure nothing is wrong with the truck.. and read over this thread.. just some things to think about (don't get scared after reading thru it, just keep the knowledge in your head so you know what to look out for )

What to look for when buying a USED 99-03 PSD
Old 11-21-2007, 03:25 AM
She's paid for!!!!!!

I agree with what Brant said, get an oasis and look it over real good.
Old 11-21-2007, 03:42 AM
Powerstroke Junkie