Turbo Pedestal for 99 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2007, 03:32 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Turbo Pedestal for 99

I finally had enough and brought my truck into the local Ford garage to get my rig scanned. I have had a lack of power and poor fuel economy. What they told me was that my EPC valve on the turbo pedestal is sticking. They told me that the pedestal needs replacing and that should take care of my problems.

I'm a newbie and am not very mechanical, so I'm looking for some good advice on where to get a good deal on a pedestal. Also, how long should it take to replace this part by someone who knows what they are doing?

Thank You!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2007, 04:07 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

Your valve is sticking its actually actuated by the pedistal. Oil pressure moves a piston that moves the actuating arm to open and close your valve. The actual valve is located on the back side of the turbine. You have a couple of options: You can have them pull your turbo and clean the valve or you can do that yourself, or you can move the actuating arm by hand to open your valve and unplug the soleniod so you valve no longer will close. Also you could elimininate the whole vavle assembly.
Old 11-09-2007, 04:59 PM

From what I understand the only reason for the valve is to produce heat in the cab? Is that true? So, if I moved the valve open by hand, will it stay open on its own or is there some kind of set screw or bolt to keep it open or will it just stay open by itself? I assume the connection for the solenoid just needs to be unplugged? Only problem with heat in the cab is that I live in Northern Minnesota where it gets colder that a witches t@t in the winter. So, will my cab not heat up or will it just take longer to heat? Thank You!!!