New 7.3 owner needs advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2007, 12:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New 7.3 owner needs advice

Hi Everyone,
Although I am new to this form, I am not new to these type of forms. I deliver all types of trailers to dealers in the lower 48 states, Alaska & Canada, I have owned all Dodge Cummins in the past, but I have aquired a Ford powerstroke at a heck of deal in my pursuit of the ultimate light-duty tow/haul rig.

What I have bought is a 2002, E-350 superduty cab & chassis with the ambulance package, she has equipment as follows:
7.3 powerstroke
auto with overdrive
2-wheel drive
dual rear wheels
4-wheel ABS disc brakes
4:11 positrac rearend
has cruise, tilt, pwr locks, windows, mirrors(also heated), a/c
Ambulance package ( dual alternaters, larger radiator, trans cooler, front & rear springs, front & rear sway bars, rear axle air bags)

MY question is: What are the do & donts of this year powerstroke? I know every make and years have them, I know all about the Cummins & nothing about the powerstroke.

IE: what kind of fluids, (I used all synthitics in my Dodges), additives, filters, etc....

are there fliuds, additives, filters, etc... to avoid

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2007, 12:21 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

Do you plan on keeping it stock? You can use synthetics as long as it meets the right spec for the powerstroke. I believe most do. Your basically looking for an oil with antifoaming qualities as the injectors are fired by high pressure engine oil. Standyne or Powerservice are two good fuel additives off the top of my head. As far as filters go I use the motorcraft oil filter, but if you go with a synthetic such as amsoil you might want to use there eao filters.