Speedometer Recalibration-Sorry another one! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Papillion, NE
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Speedometer Recalibration-Sorry another one!

Ok I have been searching on here about re-calibrating my speedometer. I have a 2000 F350 with 35's. I had read that the dealer should be able to reprogram the truck but the local dealer said that's not possible on a 2000. Any input wether or not this is correct.

I have also been seeing people talk about the Autoenginuity, Superchips Flashpaq and and Superlift TruSpeed. These are all around $250-$300 and would like to not spend that much just to recalibrate the speedometer. If I do have to go with one of these, I have a Beans chip on my truck. I can I use one of the above soley for the speedometer and not interfere with the Beans? And is one better and easier to use than the other? I realize that question is subjective but any input helps. Thank you for the help.
Chris
dart69bigblock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:27 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Where are you located? More and more people have the AE scan tool nowadays. I have it and have helped several people in the area. Might want to update where you are located on your profile.

It's worth the coin if you want something that can run full diagnostic and do so much more.
carolinaboy02powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Papillion, NE
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Good call on my location in my profile. I live in Omaha, NE.

Do the scanner tools perform diagnostics for trouble codes? I have a triple gauge pod so I don't need anything that monitors the truck in that sense.
dart69bigblock is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:38 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yea, the AE will do way more than a superchip, or edge insight, etc as far as pulling codes, and troubleshooting.
carolinaboy02powerstroke is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Papillion, NE
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is there a certain AE model to get for my particular truck? I have found this refurbished one on Ebay. Is this what i'm looking for?

Autoenginuity OBDII OBD2 Windows Scan Tool Scanner USB | eBay
dart69bigblock is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:50 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
That is just the cord. You need the cd and the security dongle(plugs into the usb port).
carolinaboy02powerstroke is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:51 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Go on AE's website to look at what all comes in the package.

They call it the ford expansion pack, or something along those lines.
carolinaboy02powerstroke is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Papillion, NE
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the help!!!
dart69bigblock is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-27-2012, 07:53 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You're welcome.

Welcome to powerstroke.org!
carolinaboy02powerstroke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome