What would you do? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 12:32 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What would you do?

Ok, first let me start by saying that I am a gas mechanic and know very little about diesels but am learning. So in jan of 2012 I bought a 2000 f250 7.3 crew cab zf6 stock everything. Paid too much money for it but I wanted it (I thought). A week after I got it home it over heated I checked it out found out I had a cracked block. Did my research to find out I can fix it with a product called lock n stitch (I have not done it yet) for about $500.00 me doing the labor. About a month ago I started having problems with towing no power I hooked up a scanner no codes I was at my whits end. I took it to a local shop that had a diesel mechanic they told me that they had a ford scanner that pulled up two codes and none of the other scanners would pull these codes. # 3 and # 8 injectors are over fueling and need to be replaced, and my turbo was leaking and it needs to be replaced. They told me how much it would cost for those and I politely told them thank you and left. So here come the question.

Option 1: I could sell the truck for what ever I could get ( not much with the problems)

Option 2: buy a new engine from someone like jasper $9000 installed (I really don't have that kind of money)

Option 3: replace turbo $525 replace all 8 injectors glow plugs, harness, and valve cover gasket $1089 fix crack in block $500 total $2114 plus shipping

Option 4: replace with a used engine ( I have seen them for +\- $2500 with 150000 miles + on them)

Option 5: drive it until it dies hope I get some more time out of it.

What would you do?

Wow I am so sad today.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-27-2012, 12:39 PM