Installed chip and new PCM and now won't fire - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 11-26-2012, 05:50 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
04sblightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Installed chip and new PCM and now won't fire

Hey guys, so the previous owner cleaned the j3port to where copper was showing so I got a remanufactured PCM and when I try to start the truck it went fire. Turns over just fine but won't fire. Wait to start light stays lit through the whole process and won't go off. Thanks for the help
04sblightning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-26-2012, 06:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had this happen to me with my banks stinger plus chip. You have to match the code of the new pcm to the chip manufacturer. For example mine is VDH-5 I thought it was vdh-4 so I sent it back to banks and reprogrammed to a vdh5. If there is no chip on the truck make sure that the pcm is plugged in good enough. Hope that helps

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-26-2012, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
04sblightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
The PCM is VDH5 and I told beans this when I ordered the chip. I'm going to try it again and see if I didn't plug it in well enough like you were saying.
04sblightning is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-26-2012, 10:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If that doesn't work here is another idea. Make sure it is a vdh5, I say this because my sticker said 4 and I had to have ford run the scan on it to get the actual number, it was a 5.
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 06:38 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Try cranking with just the new pcm. Leave the chip out.
carolinaboy02powerstroke is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 06:57 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 
SeeYa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hoschton, GA
Posts: 664
Thanks: 28
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaracer315 View Post
I had this happen to me with my banks stinger plus chip. You have to match the code of the new pcm to the chip manufacturer. For example mine is VDH-5 I thought it was vdh-4 so I sent it back to banks and reprogrammed to a vdh5. If there is no chip on the truck make sure that the pcm is plugged in good enough. Hope that helps

Chris
Th OP has a 4 bank chip so it won't matter whether it's a VDH5 or VDH4 PCM if the chip was burned for VDH5.

The Banks is single bank and is the reason you had to have yours exactly as the PCM calibration code.

To the OP- take the PCM back out and look at the gold pins inside the plastic grey connector for any bent pins. Double check the new PCM is the right family. Needs to be a DPC-462 for Federal truck. Let us know what you find.


Diane

Custom Tuning-Computer Chips

Flash Programmers-Aftermarket parts

Ford Power Stroke Engine and Transmission Tuning Specialist since 2004.

828-221-0076


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by SeeYa; 11-27-2012 at 07:01 AM.
SeeYa is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-27-2012, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
04sblightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
There are no bent pins and I tried to install the new PCM again and same thing happened. Won't be able to try it without the chip till this weekend to see whether if it's just the PCM or not. Thanks for the help guys.
04sblightning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome