Installed chip and new PCM and now won't fire - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2012, 04:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Installed chip and new PCM and now won't fire

Hey guys, so the previous owner cleaned the j3port to where copper was showing so I got a remanufactured PCM and when I try to start the truck it went fire. Turns over just fine but won't fire. Wait to start light stays lit through the whole process and won't go off. Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-2012, 05:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had this happen to me with my banks stinger plus chip. You have to match the code of the new pcm to the chip manufacturer. For example mine is VDH-5 I thought it was vdh-4 so I sent it back to banks and reprogrammed to a vdh5. If there is no chip on the truck make sure that the pcm is plugged in good enough. Hope that helps

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-26-2012, 06:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The PCM is VDH5 and I told beans this when I ordered the chip. I'm going to try it again and see if I didn't plug it in well enough like you were saying.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-26-2012, 09:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If that doesn't work here is another idea. Make sure it is a vdh5, I say this because my sticker said 4 and I had to have ford run the scan on it to get the actual number, it was a 5.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-27-2012, 05:38 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Try cranking with just the new pcm. Leave the chip out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-27-2012, 05:57 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hoschton, GA
Posts: 596
Thanks: 17
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaracer315 View Post
I had this happen to me with my banks stinger plus chip. You have to match the code of the new pcm to the chip manufacturer. For example mine is VDH-5 I thought it was vdh-4 so I sent it back to banks and reprogrammed to a vdh5. If there is no chip on the truck make sure that the pcm is plugged in good enough. Hope that helps

Chris
Th OP has a 4 bank chip so it won't matter whether it's a VDH5 or VDH4 PCM if the chip was burned for VDH5.

The Banks is single bank and is the reason you had to have yours exactly as the PCM calibration code.

To the OP- take the PCM back out and look at the gold pins inside the plastic grey connector for any bent pins. Double check the new PCM is the right family. Needs to be a DPC-462 for Federal truck. Let us know what you find.


Diane

Last edited by SeeYa; 11-27-2012 at 06:01 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-27-2012, 11:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
There are no bent pins and I tried to install the new PCM again and same thing happened. Won't be able to try it without the chip till this weekend to see whether if it's just the PCM or not. Thanks for the help guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors