Can I drop a 7.3L into this? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2012, 06:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can I drop a 7.3L into this?

I bought a 7.3L turbo diesel, I'm looking at a 99 F250 with a seized up 5.0, I want to drop the 7.3 into it
Am I going to need to make modifications to alot of things? I'm not too experienced in the whole truck building thing, some serious help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-14-2012, 06:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
1999 trucks didn't have a 5.0... Either your year or motor is wrong.
Old 10-14-2012, 06:57 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Well I talked to my buddy and he told me the same thing, so I just assumed he dropped in a 5.0 for whatever reason. But will I need a suspension upgrade and a new trans?
Old 10-14-2012, 07:22 PM

Location: Lowville, New York. Studying Mechanical Eng. @ Suny Canton
Quote:
Originally Posted by KunselmanCharles View Post
Well I talked to my buddy and he told me the same thing, so I just assumed he dropped in a 5.0 for whatever reason. But will I need a suspension upgrade and a new trans?
Trans most deffantly needs to be changed, different bolt patterns I belive between the gasser trannys and the diesels. If you going to put a new trans in it dont bother putting a 4r100 (auto trans) in it unless it is built(mostly if you plan on chipping and pushing high hp), otherwise look into the zf6. As for the suspention I read somewhere on here that the leaf springs are heavier duty for the diesel. Hopfuly someone with more knowledge on that can fill you in on the suspention
Old 10-14-2012, 07:24 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You sure your buddy ain't a little "special" and it's a 5.4?
Old 10-14-2012, 07:59 PM

Quote: