TPS - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 09-10-2012, 01:33 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TPS

My 2001 F-350 has a couple of strange quirkes. The 1st is sometimes when I step on the throttle, there is no responce. The 2nd is sometimes when sitting in slow traffic (between 20 and 40 mph) and I'm only giving it a little throttle, my automatic transmission seems to up shift and down shift back and forth between 2nd and 3rd gear. I spoke with a friend of mine and he said the 1st problem is caused from a faulty TPS "throttle positioning sennsor", and he said the 2nd problem could be cured by replacing the transmission filter, but may also require replacing a vacum silinoid on the side of the transmission that looks like an egr valve. If anyone has any other advice for me, I'd appreciate it.
dweis1 is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 09-11-2012, 05:17 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
First problem def sounds like TPS.


When upshifting/downshifting, you are in traffic? Are you on any incline? Any load your pulling?
85_305 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-11-2012, 09:56 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
7.3HeavyHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
don't know if you have one, but i have a tuner and not a 6pos chip, but with it on high performance mine will shift funny, hammer it and it will go through the gears but just before 4th it will engage 4th, back to 3rd and then back to 4th, with it stock it doesn't do that at all. just throwing that out there.

My avatar is my goal for the 7.3
7.3HeavyHauler is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-16-2012, 08:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
radracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the same exact problem. No throttle responce, and when it does, it kicks into 2nd and 3rd gear. It dosn't do it all the time, but when it does, it happens a few times, than goes away for a day or two.
radracing is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-17-2012, 05:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Maybe the chip isn't connected tightly and getting good connection
85_305 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome