turbo vacume line ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 08-31-2012, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
turbo vacume line ?

i just got a boost guage for my truck and it says connect the barbed fitting to the guage with the hose on it ... simple enough and on the other end it says put a t connecter in the vacume line it has me confused im not sure where or if the truck has a vacume line every boost guage iv seen has been drilled and tapped into place any help would be apprecieated im not sure where to find the vacume line
2000 7.3 psd is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 08-31-2012, 05:03 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
7.3HeavyHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you can "T" off the map sensor thats on the passenger side theres 2 wires and a rubber hose going to it, or you can get rid of your AIH (air intake heater) and use that instead of drilling and tapping, I choose the AIH delete. you will need an adapter to fit the hmmm sorry forgot the size of the AIH to fit your fitting and your good to go.

My avatar is my goal for the 7.3
7.3HeavyHauler is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-01-2012, 06:00 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok thanks ill try running it off the map as i live in canada id like to keep the aih on the truck thanks for the help
2000 7.3 psd is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-01-2012, 07:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jesilvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bet you hardly use that AIH . . .
Maybe you got a vacuum gauge? Anyway, you can either drill and tap the spider or just tee into the MAP sensor line like stated.



2000 F-350 Lariat Super Duty, Dually, CCLB, 7.3L
4R100, 2wd
330,000 + miles
jesilvas is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-01-2012, 09:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,286
Thanks: 7
Thanked 249 Times in 240 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You guys know there's no vacuum there - right?

The whole system runs on pressure...
NoRalPh is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-02-2012, 01:13 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i put it in the map sensor line and it works great
makes 20 psi so im happy
thanks guys
2000 7.3 psd is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome