Boost controller? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 08-27-2012, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boost controller?

Hi all,
i have some sort of boost controller on my e99 F250. I bough the truck from a girl who inherited it from her dad who passed away. She had no idea what it did, other than the fact that it made the turbo really spool up when she put it on option 6. Here are some pics of the unit, and where it goes in to the computer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	42329   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (1).JPG
Views:	261
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	42330  
mikeg1652 is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 08-27-2012, 08:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Woodstock, Ga
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It looks like the switch to turn different levels of tune on, I thought the boost fooler hooked into the wiring harness?



Owner/Founder of Georgia Diesel Power.
Current Sponsors: QuickTricks Automotive, Ray Paul Powdercoating, Ace Transmission, SoCalTrucks.com
Current Member Count: 16
TheRobenator is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-27-2012, 08:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what the knob for my ts 6 way chip looks like.
2000_f350 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-27-2012, 09:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
BryceB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 36
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000_f350 View Post
Thats what the knob for my ts 6 way chip looks like.
Yep.. that's a TS style 6 pos chip. No telling who's or what tunes are on it.


2001 Ford F-250 SD CCSB 7.3 PSD - AIS Intake, Zoodad,
MBRP 4" XP Series Exhaust w/ Muffler, HD4R100, 26 row Trans Cooler, Fumoto Valve,
285/75R16E BFG AT KO, Pioneer AVIC-Z130BT Nav, BOYO VLT-422C Back Up Camera,
Scangauge II, Glowshift 3 Gauge Pod (EGT,TFT,Boost), PHP FU Chip, Huskyliners, Huskyliner Mud Flaps, Warn Premium Hubs, Riffraff Boots/Clamps/inserts
Dyno'd at Mo's Speed Shop 11/3/12 - 307rwhp / 651rw ft-lbs <<<--- On PHP 120Race tune
BryceB is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-27-2012, 10:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Start the truck with the knob all the way to the left. Then while it is running turn it one click at a time to the right. You should notice and change in the engine and you go through the positions.
2000_f350 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-27-2012, 10:52 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Without knowledge of what each tune is, and boost/egt gauges, it's hard to say whats what (or how safe they are)
85_305 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-28-2012, 03:22 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The truck seems to run best on options 5 and 6. If I use the other ones, when driving down the road and with my foot off the gas pedal, the engine seems to just quiet down, and then about 3 or 4 seconds later, the idle comes back up. Options 5 and 6 don't have that problem, whenever i let off the gas, the idle sound is right there. Is there any issues with that, maybe I should be using the lower ones? And if I use option 6, good god, the turbo just comes to life like I have never felt before, so I only used that one to go up a steep hill that i wasn't prepared for.
mikeg1652 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-28-2012, 04:31 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Like I said.. no gauges, no telling how long the motor will last.
85_305 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 08-28-2012, 06:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah without gauges you are asking for trouble. You can pull the chip and send it to TS and they can read the tunes and tell you whats on it. It will cost you like 20$ but its a cheap piece of mind.
2000_f350 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome