A/C clutch - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2012, 04:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WAY north Texas
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A/C clutch

I have a feeling my AC clutch is the reason for my ac not working... It wont come on even when the pressures are where they are suppose to be. When the truck calls for the compressor does it just send a + and a - through the connector on the compressor? Can I just put a wire on the terminals on the compressor to make sure the clutch will engage (with the motor off of course!!!)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carrollton,Ga
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would check a couple of things first. The pressure switch on the suction line or expansion canister can be jumped out. If the compressor engages then you know it is a bad pressure switch. Second, if the compressor has a lot of use on it then the gap might be too wide for the solenoid to pull in. You can google it to see what I'm talking about. This is what was wrong with mine and by simply removing a washer behind the clutch plate fixed mine. 10 min fix. Good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:12 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky.
Posts: 8,190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
The high pressure switch was bad on mine. I bought a new compressor and it was a $5 switch
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WAY north Texas
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know my gap is much over spec I was planning on pulling the washer this weekend. The goto guys instructions say turn on the ac with the engine off to engage the clutch so you can get the bolt off. Mine will not engage at all, that is why I want to force it on by putting power to it to make sure it will engage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WAY north Texas
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kay View Post
I would check a couple of things first. The pressure switch on the suction line or expansion canister can be jumped out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
The high pressure switch was bad on mine. I bought a new compressor and it was a $5 switch
How do you jump the switches? just pull the connector off the switch and touch the terminals with a paper clip?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carrollton,Ga
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try taping on it with a wrench or screwdriver with the truck running and AC on high. If it still won't pull in then it is probably not a gap issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:22 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky.
Posts: 8,190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubular031 View Post
How do you jump the switches? just pull the connector off the switch and touch the terminals with a paper clip?
A paper clip would work for the high pressure switch. Just be sure not to short it out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:25 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carrollton,Ga
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do you jump the switches? just pull the connector off the switch and touch the terminals with a paper clip?

Yeah, That is kind of getto but it will work. Basically you need to complete the circuit by "jumping" the two wires together with a conductor of some sort.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-16-2012, 06:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WAY north Texas
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I started the truck and hit the clutch with a screwdriver and the ac came on! So I pulled off the clutch and removed the shim and that put my gap back to a tight .20 The clutch now cycles when I turn it on and off from the controls in the cab
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors