No Cruise, everything else good? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:51 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Palm Beach
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No Cruise, everything else good?

New member here, 3rd PSD

Started with 99 ExCab 6sp, then 00 Crew 6sp, now 01 Crew auto (all were 2wd). Kept using the forum without registering to keep me running, and its an awesome resource!

Having issue with cruise control.

This is what WORKS:

HORN
3RD BRAKE LIGHT
LICENSE PLATE LIGHTS
CRUISE BUTTONS BACKLIGHT
FUSES 13 & 19 ARE GOOD
RECALL DONE (BRAKE SWITCH HARNESS)
NO DASH WARNING LIGHTS OF ANY KIND!!

What DOESN'T:

CRUISE CONTROL

I cant get the cruise to work, never worked since I had the truck (about 41k miles, now 223k).

Pulled the airbag, everything behind there is plugged in and seems to work.

Is there a plug under the dash where I can test voltage and determine why I am not getting signal into the PCM to trigger the cruise?

Thanks for any tips. I am diesel mechanic, and have checked everything I could think of after doing some research, no dice so far.

Thanks fellas!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-2012, 11:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure if it's the same setup as my 01 F150 Screw, but when that happend to mine, it was the actual switch in the master that the recall harness plugged into.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-07-2012, 12:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had an 03 f250 5.4l it started only working some times then just quit all together. Ford told me it was the cruise switch itself. I would have replaced it but the truck got totaled the next day.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-07-2012, 08:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Palm Beach
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That could make sense, during recall visit dealer told me they only make sure switch is not leaking, they didnt care if it was working or not. If no leak, they just install harness. If it leaks, I would have gotten new switch, and I presume harness is not needed in that case.

Is there a way to short a switch or harness to trigger the PCM/dash to flash the cruise control button?

Read somewhere that you can test CC system by engaging parking brake, then pressing and holding OFF button on steering wheel, and then turning the key. This should light up CC dash light, or same light will flash codes I guess. I cant get mine to turn on or flash at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by vista461 View Post
Not sure if it's the same setup as my 01 F150 Screw, but when that happend to mine, it was the actual switch in the master that the recall harness plugged into.

Last edited by man-o-war; 03-07-2012 at 08:28 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-07-2012, 03:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Could be the clutch position switch.

My cruise never worked and I got it working by replacing the switch.

Here is the thread I created when it happened, read through it if you like.

Cruise Control


Edit: Just read that your current truck is an auto, so its not that haha
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dorcheat Bayou, Louisiana
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
a couple of things I would check.....


1. Make sure the Red/Lt green wire on the brake pedal position sensor has 12 volts when the brake pedal is pushed in.

2. Looking at the wiring schematics, its hard to tell about the brake pressure switch ( on the master cylinder). But what I think is that the Red wire needs 12 volts in run and start. The Black/Yellow wire is the "out" wire from the switch. I think it will have 12 volts until there is brake pressure. and then go to zero. However, it could be that it only gets 12 volts when it has pressure on it. Regardless, the BK/YE wire should change when you push the brakes in.

Also after mine had the recall done it has several fuses in that new harness. Check all of those.

3. Make sure the Triple Function Jumper is plugged into the Clutch Pedal Possition Switch plug. The harness and plug is tucked up under the dash above where you would have a clutch pedal. You should have the jumper, which looks like a simple dust cover for the plug, plugged into the harness where it dead ends. (this is a long shot unless you think the previous owner liked screwing with stuff)

4. Make sure your overdrive off button on the shifter works as it should. As in it turns off overdrive when you are going down the road.

5. Check all of your fuses. You can do this with a small flashlight in the dark with the fuses in place. Tilt your head just right and you can see through the fuse.

If all of that checks out, my personal opinion would be the Clock Spring. I believe that thing could break one wire, screw up your cruise but allow everything else to work. I had to replace mine awhile back, but my horn wasn't working either.

good luck.


On Edit: I would go ahead and replace the brake pressure switch if Ford didn't do it. Its only a matter of time before the POS starts leaking if it already hasn't. Its nothing to it, just unscrew the old and screw in the new. Just dont push the brakes when you have the old out and you don't even have to bleed them.

Last edited by Freedombyforce; 03-07-2012 at 06:52 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-08-2012, 10:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Palm Beach
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Freedom, thanks for a detailed answer, I already picked up brake switch from rock auto for $10, gonna try that first. Good to know i dont need to bleed it, i was worried it would leak all of the canister fluid when replacing. Mine is auto, but i will look to see if there is that terminator in the clutch pedal switch. O/D button works good and revs jump up when pressed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-09-2012, 09:35 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i had the same problem mine quit working after the dealer did the recall and i had to send my pcm out to be reflashed only cuase the dealer wanted 150 to reflash verses 60 from a tunner when i got pcm back it has worked perfect no problems
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-09-2012, 09:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Palm Beach
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine has not worked before recall either. I have Diablo programmer can I flash it myself?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-09-2012, 08:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no diablo programmer wont do the job its got to be reflashed with the stock program that the pcm was sent out with from factory and only ford and dp and i think php have those and can do it but it may not even be your pcm only someone with a snap on scanner or auto scanner might be able to help narrow down your problem thats how i figured out mine and had to get it reflashed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors