Replacing the AC dryer, how ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-29-2012, 12:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Replacing the AC dryer, how ?

My dryer for my AC has a hole in it. I just removed it and ordered another along with new o rings. What, if anything should I do or check before I install the new one. Do I need to vacuumed the system once it's installed ? What's the process to get this working again? Th
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-29-2012, 12:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pasadena
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah youll need to get the system vacuum tested but basically you just swamp it out (im pretty sure) but make sure that your new dryer as soon as you pull the caps off you install it, leaving it open to long the drying chemical will absorb a lot of moisture in the air and it will become useless. but by sayin it has a hole you mean theres no 134a in you system at all anymore? if so, just get it vacuum tested and have the system recharged. or you could pay someone to do all of it. up to you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-29-2012, 01:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I know I found the leak. Pinhole in the dryer, yes, all the r134 leaked out. The dryer is off now. The vacuuming the system ? What does this do? I don't need to test it or leaks, I am positive I found it. I was thinking I needed to do it for moisture or something?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-29-2012, 01:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Can I just recharge it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-29-2012, 01:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pasadena
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well basically the vacuum test is obviously to test for leaks, its always done to your system by a refrigerant recycler system before they pump 134a into your system. if you dont want to test it cool, just make sure stuff in tight and not over tight so there isnt a leak. vacuum testing after any ac work is always recomended if doing yourself and is always done by the shop doing the work. and your dryer will remover any moister in the system.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-29-2012, 01:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Approx how much freon do I need to add? What about the oil for it? I have added r134 before but never dealt with an empty system. Thx for all the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-29-2012, 01:47 PM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 16,719
Thanks: 13
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
There should be plenty of oil already in the system. The vacuuming removes all the moisture in the system and it is a necessary step. If you just top it off with 134a without vacuuming, you will have problems (compressor cycling, hot spots, etc). BTW, I believe it is two full cans to top off the AC on these things. Best bet is to borrow a set of gauges from a buddy or get a set for yourself. They are cheap from Harbor Freight.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-29-2012, 02:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I know that when the dryer developed a pin hole in the bottom and a lot of oil leaked out, I am going to have a friend at a local shop vacuume the system for me. How do I check the oil level that's in it still? Or how o I get it all out and add new? Is this necessary to change? I am good at engines but never had to screw with AC. Can u explain this to me? Thx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-29-2012, 06:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 281
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by melmount View Post
I know that when the dryer developed a pin hole in the bottom and a lot of oil leaked out, I am going to have a friend at a local shop vacuume the system for me. How do I check the oil level that's in it still? Or how o I get it all out and add new? Is this necessary to change? I am good at engines but never had to screw with AC. Can u explain this to me? Thx
You would better off letting someone certified do the recharge that way it will be done properly. You can damage the system if you add too much freon or not adding a little oil.

It has to be vaccumed or you can not charge the system. Vaccuming removes all air from the system.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-01-2012, 05:07 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 16,719
Thanks: 13
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by melmount View Post
I know that when the dryer developed a pin hole in the bottom and a lot of oil leaked out, I am going to have a friend at a local shop vacuume the system for me. How do I check the oil level that's in it still? Or how o I get it all out and add new? Is this necessary to change? I am good at engines but never had to screw with AC. Can u explain this to me? Thx
There's no way to know for sure how much oil is in the system unless you remove all the components on the hot side and blow them out with compressed air.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors