Fifth wheel questions...and some other stuff - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 07:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Fifth wheel questions...and some other stuff

Please feel free to give me your honest opinions on my summer plan here. it's open for discussion. I am a student at Texas A&M (junior in Petroleum Engineering) and I have a summer internship in Holly, Louisiana starting in late May with Exco Resources. They are giving me a $2500 living stipend and I get to keep what I don't spend as long as I work at least 8 weeks.
So here's my idea:

I figure that I'm going to have a lot of off time (I can't work overtime or else I would) so I wanted to live on a lake or river so I could fish. I also have some family friends with an awesome fifth wheel travel trailer that aren't planning on using this summer so they agreed to rent it out to me for $500 (3 months of insurance on it). They would let me use the hitch off of their truck (also a 7.3 but thats beside the point) but I don't want to pull the brackets and mounting rails off also. I found a Reese Quick Install Base Rail kit online that has good ratings and should be compatible with their hitch also.

I have never pulled a fifth wheel trailer before but have heard many times that is is way better than just a regular hitch. I have pulled big and heavy loads before though like a 24 ft pontoon boat (sail) and a heavy a** tractor.