3 clutch questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 08:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
3 clutch questions

I keep lurking, reading and searching but I'm still a noob to the site and to diesels, so apologies if this sounds ignorant.

I have a problem with my clutch or something in the clutch linkage. 2000 4x4 w/ 6spd ZF, 110,000 miles, all stock. I have seen mention about how a bad clutch, pilot or throwout bearing can lead to too much input shaft play on the transmission and that can lead to very bad and expensive things. Plus my clutch pedal makes this sound (wife says it sounds like an owl) when I have driven it for a while, say an hour or two. The pedal or the linkage seems to start to bind up on something like it doesn't have enough lube. The longer I drive it, the worse it gets. No chatter or slippage though.

Anyway, I am getting paranoid about this after reading how expensive these transmissions can be to fix or rebuild and I just don't have the money for that. So my three questions are:

1 - Does the binding/jerky pedal sound like a common symptom of a certain problem?

2 - If I determine that I do need a clutch, are there any other parts that I should replace at the same time for good measure? Shift fork? Master & slave cylinders? I will change to a solid flywheel if it needs a clutch.

3 - If I go with a Luk clutch kit and I use one of their solid flywheels, will I be able to use a different brand of clutch with it in the future? Like a Valair or Southbend?

Thanks guys, love this forum. I learn something new here everyday...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-01-2012, 10:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

To me it sounds like a release/throw out bearing. Slowly seizing or the face has separated like mine did.