911 Help! Chip problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2012, 12:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Exclamation 911 Help! Chip problem

Installed my Dp Tuner today that I bought used and sent to Jody for a reflash. The install was a success and it is awesome! However my truck is currently down! The first time I started the truck it was flawless. Drove it around and had a little fun, then shut truck off only to get a no start (Check engine light came on and no wait to start light). So I took the chip out, cleaned the connections on the PCM and reinstalled. This worked and the truck started. Drove around a bit then shut it off again. I tried to restart the truck and the same story, I got a no start. I need some help pretty bad. Anyone know the answer to this problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-2012, 12:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,861
Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 51 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Basics first -
* Are you now getting the WTS light?
* Is the tach moving as you crank it?
* Any white smoke?
* Is the chip in it now?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
OK just went to try again and it started fine. Then shut off, pulled key, and tried again. No start! No WTS light, no tach movement, no white smoke, and the chip is infact in now. I did take the chip out for a bit and it started and ran fine. But with the chip its like it only wants to start once, then not anymore after that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:02 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
When you plug the tuner into the PCM, (WITH THE TRUCK OFF, KEYS OUT OF THE IGNITION) try re-installing it without the black box, and tape it in place with duct tape or electrical tape.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yea, i used duct tape. Its in there tight. Cleaned the connections twice. I also noticed that the previous owner had the dealership do something to the PCM. The silicon was already rubbed off the connections. And there is a sticker under the hood from the ford dealership that is faded. All I can make out is the word PCM. What do you think this is? Could this be the issue? I had Jody tune it for an early 99 XLE8 PCM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:23 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by revolvingsteel View Post
Yea, i used duct tape. Its in there tight. Cleaned the connections twice. I also noticed that the previous owner had the dealership do something to the PCM. The silicon was already rubbed off the connections. And there is a sticker under the hood from the ford dealership that is faded. All I can make out is the word PCM. What do you think this is? Could this be the issue? I had Jody tune it for an early 99 XLE8 PCM.
Did you mount the PCM with the black box?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yea, the PCM is installed in the factory black box just the way the DP directions say.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:30 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by revolvingsteel View Post
Yea, the PCM is installed in the factory black box just the way the DP directions say.
Ok, here is where I am coming from:

When I installed my PHP chip, I was having issues similar to yours. It would work...die...then would not re-start until I removed the chip and/or PCM. Chased it for a while.

Turns out, the black box was putting just enough pressure on the chip to turn it, causing it to essentially shut down the PCM.

I have since removed the black box, and haven't had a problem since.

It would at least eliminate it as a possibility for you.


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 238
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I will try this, but my truck never died on me. It only would not restart after the first time running.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-21-2012, 01:37 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by revolvingsteel View Post
I will try this, but my truck never died on me. It only would not restart after the first time running.
It only does it with the tuner on, right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors