Superchips 1705 programmer - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 03:19 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Superchips 1705 programmer

I had this programmer installed in my PS, before I sold it I took the tune out. Can I sell this programmer or will it only work with my old truck even if the tune was took out before I got rid of it?
jordan572 is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 04:08 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cullman
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you retruned the truck to stock, the tuner will be fine to use on another vehicle. I have the same tuner that I bought used.
jphillips is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you sure? Thanks
jordan572 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 09:14 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cullman
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Find someone with the same truck, plug it in, if it says it's VIN locked, you will have to send it to Superchips and have it re programmed. Cost $100. If it is not vin locked, it is good to go......
jphillips is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 10:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
audiocontr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Falls Chruch
Posts: 463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My 1705 is so old that they no longer support it. Its vin locked to my vehicle and will sell with my vehicle

Nonconformist. Functionality over bling.

My three rules for 7.3l troubleshooting: 1) Replace CPS and keep a spare. 2) Replace FPR and know your fuel pressure. 3) Hook it to a scanner and check for codes.
audiocontr is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 10:49 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cullman
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's strange that they won't support it.....I just had mine "un-VIN locked" a few months ago. The 1705 is really not that great anyway. I only bought it because it was very cheap.....
jphillips is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 10:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
audiocontr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Falls Chruch
Posts: 463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yup, tried and they said its too old. They would take it in and give me a small credit towards a newer one. Quite possible the tech didnt want to deal with my question and just fed me a line. Especially if you had yours done recently!

Nonconformist. Functionality over bling.

My three rules for 7.3l troubleshooting: 1) Replace CPS and keep a spare. 2) Replace FPR and know your fuel pressure. 3) Hook it to a scanner and check for codes.
audiocontr is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 10:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cullman
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Call them and ask to speak with Ron. I think he is the only one there that can get things done!!! Good luck.
jphillips is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So for me to sell it I would need to send it in and get it unlocked even if the truck was returned to stock?
jordan572 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-17-2012, 02:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cullman
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No, If you return the truck to stock using the tuner, you can use the tuner on a different truck. You would only have to return it if it is vin locked.....
jphillips is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome