Fuse #15 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:03 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Commerce
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuse #15

Recently my truck has been being really week every morning when i go out to crank it. so i traced the problem to the #15 fuse. its the only one that was drawing power according to the amp meter. Have any of yall had this problem before or do yall know what on that fuse could be pullin the battres down?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,424
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i dont have a diagram handy, but pull the fuse and see what doesnt work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,038
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Your manual says it if you have it.
Fuse 15 in the cab or batt junc box?
In cab: Stop Lamp Switch (Logic): Generic Electronic Module (GEM), Powertrain Control Module (PCM), Four Wheel Anti-lock Brake System (4WABS) Module, Brake Shift Interlock, Cluster and PCM Keep Alive Memory
Batt junc box: Says not used.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,038
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianstew View Post
i dont have a diagram handy, but pull the fuse and see what doesnt work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post
Your manual says it if you have it.
Fuse 15 in the cab or batt junc box?
In cab: Stop Lamp Switch (Logic): Generic Electronic Module (GEM), Powertrain Control Module (PCM), Four Wheel Anti-lock Brake System (4WABS) Module, Brake Shift Interlock, Cluster and PCM Keep Alive Memory
Batt junc box: Says not used.
Everything
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,424
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
eww.....gem module. usually the culprit
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,038
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's what I was thinking but where the heck is that thing? I've never seen a pic, just that it's behind the fuse block or something.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:42 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Commerce
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its the one in the cab. How in the world would i check all that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-01-2012, 01:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 281
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I remember that a while back ford was having issues with the abs motor or something with the abs continue running under the truck after the vehicle is shut off. That would cause a drain.

The only reason I remember that is because the person said that fuse deals with the abs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-01-2012, 01:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,038
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thought the ABS motor was at the front, kinda behind the driver headlight.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-01-2012, 02:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,784
Thanks: 0
Thanked 75 Times in 70 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Wait a min.....

The PCM & GEM are Supposed to be drawing power All the time. You would need to know how Much power it's consuming to know if it's your problem. And remember, when you first reconnect it the amount of "draw" from there will decrease slowly for about 1/2hr before reaching a stable point.

If you stopped when you got to #15, Keep Going, see if there's another circuit with a draw that's not supposed to be there (unlike #15)

The most likely culprits are the radio, alt, dash cluster.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors