Getting a php Chip But have lockup problem *advice please* - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2011, 01:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Getting a php Chip But have lockup problem *advice please*

i just bought a 99 f250 auto 7.3 about 2 months ago and should be getting my php pheonix chip today but noticed my torque converter will go in and out of lock up around 40mph. If i speed up it will go away but only when im cruising around that speed. The overdrive light worked fine but when I got the truck I had to change the shifter stem on the colum because it was broken. Now the O/d light will only go on in "P, R, & N" Not when im in "D,2,or1". The truck will shift in and out of O/D but no light. I was told it could be the selector switch out of adjustment which is kindve making sense since the Cruise control isnt working either. Im was planning on installing the chip asap but im worried about the consequences if i dont address this problem first. Any advice guys?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-2011, 01:34 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Your TC will lock/unlock at that speed (around 40mph). So, yeah, if you are hanging around that speed and going up and down hills, its going to do that. As for the OD light...sounds like you have a broken ground wire or something in the switch or column. As long as your TC is working, there should be no problem with the PHP install. My sons OD switch never has worked, but the TC works as it should. He never hauls/tows anything so I havnt really worried about it. And his PHP chip works great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-28-2011, 02:52 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So its normal to lock and unlock?? i dont drive up and down hills at all where i live just flat highway
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-30-2011, 08:58 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes...that seems to be the norm if you are hanging around 40mph or so. The computer is trying to decide if you are going to continue to accelerate, slow down, coast, whatever.. as long as its locking up at around 40-50 (depending on how hard you're standing on the throttle), and unlocking on decelleration, its working as it should.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:01 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i had a friend plug in a scanner and the scanner does not seem to recognize what gear the truck is in. i believe it just shows P and 1 so im guessing i need to change out the Shift-Range sensor on the tranny. Im just a little skepitical cause my reverse lights and neutrel safety switch work fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-04-2012, 06:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Falls Chruch
Posts: 463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any codes? What scanner?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-04-2012, 07:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 379
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would check into DP tuner before you get a PHP chip. Jody does amazing stuff with 7.3's.
Ive heard some problems on PHP getting paid and not turning out any products, or taking for ever to get back to them. Search on here for PHP issues before you order.
Just my .02
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-04-2012, 07:21 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by boschert_72 View Post
I would check into DP tuner before you get a PHP chip. Jody does amazing stuff with 7.3's.
Ive heard some problems on PHP getting paid and not turning out any products, or taking for ever to get back to them. Search on here for PHP issues before you order.
Just my .02
Yeah, there was a couple weeks where Bill was behind due to his wife being in/out/in the hospital for surgery, but he is all caught up now. PHP is still best bang for the much, IMO.

And it aint like DP doesn't had any issues... talk to folks with aftermarket HID's and stereos that have RF interference due to DP's system.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-04-2012, 07:23 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunatic250 View Post
i had a friend plug in a scanner and the scanner does not seem to recognize what gear the truck is in. i believe it just shows P and 1 so im guessing i need to change out the Shift-Range sensor on the tranny. Im just a little skepitical cause my reverse lights and neutrel safety switch work fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiocontr View Post
Any codes? What scanner?


The PSD's are not OBDII compliant, so you need an advanced scanner to read the codes. If he was using a generic or cheap scanner, chances are it didn't get all the codes.

If you DO get it scanned by a good scanner, post up what codes came up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
lockup o/d cruise problem

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors