NOT GOING INTO 4X4 "SWITCH" - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2011, 01:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question NOT GOING INTO 4X4 "SWITCH"

I have a 2001 has the switch on the dash to go into four high or low. It will not engage into 4X4. I have heard of the motor going out is this located on or near the transfer case? Also heard some things about vacuum hoses being the issue "usual location of bad hoses?".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-2011, 02:04 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Aberdeen, WA
Posts: 6,181
Thanks: 12
Thanked 47 Times in 39 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Could be the motor, switch(not likely), vacuum hose, harness(probably not), or the seals associated with the wheel bearings/hubs.

Have you tried locking the hubs in to see if it actually engages and works? Try that first. If it does it should eliminate the motor, switch, and harness as a problem cause you'll know the t-case shifted into 4bi.

Then start checking vacuum hoses and connectors, etc. If nothing wrong there it's a seal. Hope I explained that right. good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-18-2011, 02:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Stephenville Tx.
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
take the little eletric motor off the t-case and clean it check the wires for any open or rubbed connections check ur fuse
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-18-2011, 02:56 PM
Winning DUHHH


 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunrise Beach, MO
Posts: 2,357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My bet says the Stock Auto Lockers are the culprit!...

Like stated earlier, Switch the hubs to LOCK and select 4wd. IF your getting tire scrub while turning its obviously working. Or, lack up the front end with both wheels off the ground, and select 4wd lock the hubs, and try and rotate the tires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-18-2011, 03:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
with the hubs locked i get nothing when i switch the switch to 4high. The hubs are find im not a rookie with locking front hubs..Thinking the motor im going to try and clean it and see how it does.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-18-2011, 05:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Stephenville Tx.
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
its gona be the little eletric motor the switch hardly ever goes out and even if the hubs didnt engage due to vaccum leak ur t-case would still shift into 4hi and 4lo thats y we have manual hubs the hoses run from the vaccum pump pass side across the front of the motor mount to the and down to both hubs but that has nothin to do w/ the tcase problem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-18-2011, 05:57 PM
Winning DUHHH


 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunrise Beach, MO
Posts: 2,357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No, Just turn the key to ON and flip the switch,,,,,,you should hear it make noise! No need to run the truck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-18-2011, 06:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmonton Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to 03_Turbo7.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Young-SC-Owner View Post
No, Just turn the key to ON and flip the switch,,,,,,you should hear it make noise! No need to run the truck
man u cant hear anything with the prick running, anything u can do with it off its better off that way lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-18-2011, 06:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Stephenville Tx.
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i would hope youd be able to feel the difference in 4hi and 4lo from 2wd by just placing the truck in drive. doesnt matter i bet its the motor let us know when u figure it out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-19-2011, 07:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 921
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
i am having a similar problem(4hi works but no 4lo). let us know how it goes and if the motor fixes it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors