Hard starting 2000 ford superduty 7.3l diesel help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 01:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hard starting 2000 ford superduty 7.3l diesel help

Hello Everyone,

I have a 2000 Ford F350 superduty 4X4 auto 7.3L diesel that I could use some help on. Now I have been a heavy equiptment diesel mechanic all my life, now this truck is very hard to start and its out in the field so I dont see it much however I tried to start it the other day and it just cranked, now keep in mind that it is 78 deg outside and the truck has been setting for three hours and the driver said here is how I start it, plug in the block heater for two hours then one person sprays a small amount of starting fluid in the intake hose contentiously as someone else cranks the motor with NO throttle for one to two mins until it idles on its own then let it idle for 15 mins before tring to drive it at all. so I checked and replaced the GPR not working and one glow plug was bad replaced it also, replaced the ICP
sensor and IPR valve, checked the injuctor harness, I have power to the GP's, I took it to the ford dealer and was told the high pressure oil pump was bad and the fuel pump was bad so I replaced it also, I dropped the fuel tank and cleaned the pickup screens and I have good flow from the pump, the AIH is working as well, the oil is new as all the filters and I am useing 15-40 shell diesel oil, I cleaned and resealed the fuel filter housing, I have tried in the past to find any codes and none so far, I am getting frusterated and could use some help please I guess im not up on the 7.3L like I thought so I turned here theres always someone smarter LOL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2011, 04:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict