powerstroke advise - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2011, 02:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
powerstroke advise

so im looking at a 2000 7.3 4x4 f250 and im wondering what kind of trucks these guys are and how well they hold up compared to the other. i do have a 05 cummins right now and im trying to get some insight on the differences and what i could expect as far as power difference and reliability.. thanks for the input guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-24-2011, 03:20 PM
Banned

Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Well, I have no experience with the cummins, but I had an 05 Hemi 2500 and hated it. Constantly was fixing front end crap, blew the tranny at 68k, master cylinder at 75k, and chewed through tires pretty quick, all while getting 10-12mpg.

I hated it, and I will never own another dodge. (owned 3, btw)

That said, I love my Ford, the 7.3L is a very strong engine, easy to work on, and will last forever if it's been properly maintained. I get a consistent 16-18+mpg, and it pulls mike nothing is there. Love it.

Old 10-24-2011, 03:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

thanks for the input. i love the engine never had an issue with it but as far as the front end problems new ball joints are deff in my near future but the tires dont seem to be an issue too bad as of yet. the power stroke runs strong but comparing it to my standard while it being a auto is like comparing apples to oranges in my book.
Old 10-24-2011, 05:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Well...... I work with Cummins engines every day, and there is a reason why I drive a SD. I'm not bashing your truck by any means but I've read a good saying on here before. "Dodge trucks - worlds most expensive Cummins engine crates"