AE scanner - how do i know i have the ford bundle? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 10-21-2011, 04:49 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AE scanner - how do i know i have the ford bundle?

hey guys - new to the forum !
love the info available

quick question:
I just purchased a used AE scanner - along with a factory ford powertrain service manual.
The scanner and software cost me $100 along with the factory ford powertrain service manual.
The guy i purchased it from was using it on his 99 7.3... which he no longer has.. figured it was a great deal...

how do i know if the AE scanner has the ford bundle ?
the kit i purchased from the guy is similar to this ebay item:

NEW AUTOENGINUITY OBDII SCANNER | eBay

any info greatly appreciated
JimmysTurboD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-21-2011, 06:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,412
Thanks: 7
Thanked 273 Times in 262 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If you had the "Enhanced" package, it would come with (2) OBD-II connectors. One marked ProLine, or maybe something else depending on how old it is, and the other just says OBD-II I think..
NoRalPh is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-21-2011, 07:48 AM
Govy Magnet

 
zambonimaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville NC
Posts: 713
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It should say in the 'about' section of the program what version you have. Look on their website for the version that you need and it should explain if the version you got has the enhanced package.

~Phil


"Initial Success or Total Failure"

2002 F250 SC SB 4x4 7.3ltr
~leveling kit~35/12.5~B&W~MBRP 5"~4 Pod Gauge Pillar ~TW 6 POS~Mag-Hytec~LineX]~KC Long Range (Front)~KC Wide Beam (Rear)~Cobra CB~WW~CFM+~EBPV Delete ~6kHID's~OUO Blocks~3/4" Ubolts~OUO Adjust ladder bars~Full RR system w/ Fuel Bowl Delete~ CCV~BTS TRANNY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
~ 6.0 Tranny Cooler ~ BHOF/Coolant Filter/ Fltr Mags

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2012 Harley Davidson FXDB
2010 Jetta TDI traded for...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country
zambonimaxx is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 10-21-2011, 07:58 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by zambonimaxx View Post
It should say in the 'about' section of the program what version you have. Look on their website for the version that you need and it should explain if the version you got has the enhanced package.

~Phil

I can't remember exactly how to access it, but there's a list on there that says whether it's the enhanced package and which one it is. When you connect you should be able to connect to more than one system, such as ABS, PATS, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoRalPh View Post
If you had the "Enhanced" package, it would come with (2) OBD-II connectors. One marked ProLine, or maybe something else depending on how old it is, and the other just says OBD-II I think..
Mine only came with the Proline one, and it works on regular OBDII.

ToMang07 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 10-21-2011, 08:34 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,412
Thanks: 7
Thanked 273 Times in 262 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToMang07 View Post
Mine only came with the Proline one, and it works on regular OBDII.
Really,,, not only did mine come with both, but I've actually had it ask me to remove the ProLine one and use the regular OBD-II connector for some tests......

I wonder what the difference is???? In any case, I think if you didn't have the ProLine connector, it's not going to be the advanced package - right??
NoRalPh is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-21-2011, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the info.. good thing i found the activation code for the ford enhanced package - in the auto enginuity user guide.. or i would of had a paper weight.. the info this scanner has is amazing.. figured i should get the scanner first - before i start upgraded..
JimmysTurboD is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-21-2011, 09:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoRalPh View Post
Really,,, not only did mine come with both, but I've actually had it ask me to remove the ProLine one and use the regular OBD-II connector for some tests......

I wonder what the difference is???? In any case, I think if you didn't have the ProLine connector, it's not going to be the advanced package - right??

I really don't know.... probably has to do with whatever software base/year it is. I used mine on a couple fords and 3 OBDII non-fords so far, no issues yet.
ToMang07 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-22-2011, 06:44 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my kit had the obdII connector. plugged it in- and saw it couldnt really do much but read codes.. after all the info i gathered here, i realized i didnt have the ford bundle.
i found a little blue piece of paper in the auto enginuity owners manual.. there was a enhanced activation code on the paper.. punched the number in - and the scanner came to life..
JimmysTurboD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome