A Lil' Help Plz. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oroville CA
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A Lil' Help Plz.

So I was poking around on my truck, looking at the PCM code to determine what in needed to get going on ordering a DP Tuner, when to my suprise, I find a chip! Plugged into the PCM it some sort of a Hypertech chip. I looked at their site but they didn't show an application for my truck, just the 6's. I've had the truck for about 20 months, and have to sheepishly admitt that I never knew that it was there. The individual that I bought it from was the second owner, and the first was an elderly man who used it to tow, so I assume that is where it came from. I'm currently running the Superchip MM Tuner on the 110HP Hi-Perf. setting. It runs just fine, but should I avoid stacking the two of them? I don't know if I'm excited to find this thing, or if I'm embarassed that I never knew it was there......either way I need some info on it, so if anyone knows anything please let me know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:32 PM
COLLEGE KID
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,226
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to lifewitlooie
i dont have a chip man. flip though vendor websites and look at dp tuner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:34 PM
COLLEGE KID
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,226
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to lifewitlooie
sunday night. not a whole lot of people on. i bet u get alot more hits tomorrow.. i guarrantee it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oroville CA
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've already made the choice to go with DP Tuner, that's what got me poking around, but I'm just curious as to what this thing does, or if I'm hindering anything by having that and the Superchip Tuner running at the same time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: lewiston, Id.
Posts: 5,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
stackin a chip on a chip or a tuner on a chip will actualy hinder your performance. so if your going to upgrade to a chip that you know what programs in it I would remove the old one and sell it on ebay.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oroville CA
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've always been told not to stack because it will diminish the performance, or that the tuner can cancel out the chip all together, but the truck runs really really good. I'll prolly just run the Superchip til the DP gets here, but I'd like to find some info on the Hypertech, or atleast know what it may be worth.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:44 PM
HardLuck Case of the Year
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Catonsville, MD
Posts: 3,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Ditty Send a message via Yahoo to Ditty
well, since you've already got a chip in there...and that is where the DP tuner is goig to plug into. I too had a chip in my PCM that I didn't know about. I found it when I was installing my 6pos. That chip is going to have to come out when you install the DP tuner. I would also see about getting the PCM flashed with a stock tune to clear out any other tunes that were programmed through the OBD2 port.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oroville CA
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The only thing that should be on the PCM is the Superchip tunes that I put there. I'd assume that if I pull the chip then reflash the PCM to stock with the Superchip tuner it would be good, right? I wonder which of them is taking effect right now, the tuner of the chip?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:12 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 30,948
Thanks: 106
Thanked 88 Times in 82 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
The thing is the 7.3 engines dont respond to PCM chip and tuner stacking. Basically what i am trying to say is that the whole time your truck was tuned with the superchips MM the chip was overriding it. The only way you can really stack on a 7.3 is with a tuner or chip and a module like the 10k or Edge Juice. Just an FYI
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-27-2007, 07:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oroville CA
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadracer1014 View Post
The thing is the 7.3 engines dont respond to PCM chip and tuner stacking. Basically what i am trying to say is that the whole time your truck was tuned with the superchips MM the chip was overriding it. The only way you can really stack on a 7.3 is with a tuner or chip and a module like the 10k or Edge Juice. Just an FYI

That's what I was looking for. I assumed that the truck was responding to the chip and not the tuner. This morning I pulled the chip, reflashed the PCM to stock, then loaded the "performance tune" from the tuner. Any idea what the Hypertech chip may be worth???? I assume that it is nearly worthless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors