Pcm code - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2011, 05:27 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Springlake , Texas
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pcm code

I sure this is out there somewhere but how do I find out my Pcm code and where is it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-11-2011, 09:13 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Springlake , Texas
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nobody just trying to figure if a used chip will work on my truck but most have a code that thy will work on but I don't know my code or how to get it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On the side of the PCM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:35 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Springlake , Texas
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know that's why I am asking . Where is the Pcm ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OOOOHHHHH ok. Beside the parking brake. Just a box in a plastic cradle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-11-2011, 12:54 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Video - DP-Tuner Install

Diesel Movies - I install a DPTuner F5 chip in my buddies truck. Positions were Stock hi idle 60tow 80econo 120 race 140smoke.

Watch the video, it shows you how/where to remove the PCM.

Mine had the sticker in 2 places, on the part of the PCM plug in the firewall, and on the plastic cover you have to remove to install the chip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-11-2011, 09:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Reno NV
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The PCM is down by the emergency brake pedal. Simply unbolting it won't help you much. On the other side of the firewall there's a large plug with a rather huge bundle of wires going into it. The plug is held in place by a 10 mm bolt. You have to loosen that bolt and unplug the PCM before you can take it out. This plug is a bit difficult to get if you have big hands and arms.

Once you get the plug off the code is actually readable if you have good eyesight and a mirror. You can get to it easier if you unbolt the fuse box. You can also unbolt the fender and pull it to the side. I didn't need to do that to get to the PCM, just removing the fuse box was enough for me.

Last edited by MKeeney; 09-12-2011 at 07:49 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-12-2011, 05:56 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Springlake , Texas
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-12-2011, 09:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 4,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
confusion along the same lines here. i hear the PMT1's came our around 01? and then i dont recall the model, but there was one for the e-99.

anyway, in my org searches i cant find what PCM a late 99 or 00 would have... does anyone have a simple year to truck (f250 and 350 only, not amblance, etc.) chart? i ahev an auto.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-12-2011, 09:07 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
U really should pull it so you know FOR SURE which PCM is in it. It it ever had one fail, or a PO upgraded it, a different one may have been used.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors