remote start has my truck locked down! Help!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2011, 11:27 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Depends on the job
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
remote start has my truck locked down! Help!!

I have a 03 F-350 diesel with the Excalibur AL-1830-EDPB and the truck wont start with the remote or the key. Im 99% sure it is in the remote start. I also have a Edge Programer that plugs into th ODB port and it is not coming on with the key anymore. Lots of relays are clicking in the fuse box but it wont turn over. About two weeks ago it wouldnt start with the key but would with the remote? I am okwith wiring but have never installed a remote starter. Please help I am out of state working and have to wheels! Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-14-2011, 11:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 1,678
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you hook up any sort of hood release security feature that might be triggered? I'm not clear on if you put it in or it was put in by someone else?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-14-2011, 11:52 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Depends on the job
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It was "professionally" installed. Went into town, parked next to my camper to unload some stuff, went to move it and it wont start.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-14-2011, 12:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 1,678
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My guess is it is one of the security features that is disabling the start. Do you have a book for it or anything?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-14-2011, 12:04 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Depends on the job
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes but I know car audio and lights etc. Never messed with and alarm or remote start.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-14-2011, 12:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 1,678
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do you have the two-way one with the little lcd screen thing or just the one way with the buttons?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-14-2011, 12:24 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Depends on the job
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the lcd one
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-14-2011, 12:25 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Depends on the job
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If I have to I guess it will get towed to a stereo shop around here. But would rather find a way to bypass the thing or get it to start somehoe so I can drive it there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-14-2011, 12:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 1,678
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraypipeliner View Post
the lcd one
Does it say anything or give you any indication as to why it doesn't want to start?

Found this in the manual
"Emergency Override
If you were to lose or break your controller, you’d need to perform an emergency
override to disarm the system and use your vehicle. To do so, use the following steps:
STEP 1 - Enter the vehicle (the alarm should sound)
STEP 2 - Turn the ignition key to the “ON” position
STEP 3 - Press the valet switch (located in the window-mount antenna) once
NOTE: Enter your SecureCode at this time if programmed via user feature #1
STEP 4 - Turn the ignition “OFF”."

Not sure that is the issue though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-14-2011, 12:32 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Depends on the job
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont know what the SecureCode would be. And there is no indication of anything on remote screen
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors