Straight Exhaust - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2011, 05:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Straight Exhaust

Was up late last night doing research on here. I'm new to owning a diesel. I have a 01 f250. After researching I've decided to do a DIY Tymar and straight pipes. I talked to a dude today, who does work on my cars, he said he could put a 4" straight pipe on it. He doesn't have the machinery to bend it, so we are thinking of putting a dump right before the rear axle. Is there any problems with doing this, like overheating tires or anything like that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-09-2011, 10:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Nope, won't run into any trouble like that if you choose to go that route.

The stock 3.5" will flow as much as you need with a mostly stock truck. You can have him chop the muffler out, loosen the clamp on the exhaust in front of the muffler and rotate it until you have a straight shot to where the tailpipe was chopped off the muffler and weld in some straight pipe. 1/2 hour to a clean, functional and GREAT SOUNDING exhaust.
Just get that muffler out of there and you will be in fine shape until you start with injectors, bigger turbo, etc. I opted for a walker BTM after a year of straight pipe, it was just a tad too loud outside the truck for the family-mobile.

You will be amazed how much better it seems your truck will breathe with the diy and the straightpipe.

Enjoy your truck.
Scott

Last edited by ScottyP5947; 07-09-2011 at 10:12 PM. Reason: add photo
Old 07-09-2011, 10:14 PM

Yeah and -
Old 07-10-2011, 01:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie