7.3 Newbie here and I must be crazy! LONG - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2011, 06:13 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
7.3 Newbie here and I must be crazy! LONG

Hi all,
First post. I have been an SD owner for all of 3 days now so I wanted to say Hi and introduce myself as well as garner feedback from the group.
I have been a longtime boat owner as well as Ford truck owner. Up until this past Friday I was the original owner of a mint condition 2003 F-150 Heritage Edition 4x4 fully loaded with only 45,000 miles on it. The truck was showroom clean on the inside and out.

Last month I sold my small 17' Hurricane deck boat and picked up a larger and MUCH heavier 23' Cobalt deck boat. I pulled the new boat around a few times with the F-150 but I quickly became aware of the fact that this 5500 lb boat not counting fuel , gear or passengers was not going to be doing the F-150 any favors, not to mention the pitiful 6-7 mpg I was averaging towing, so I sought out in search of a "small" diesel truck to pck up to pull the boat around through the mountains with.

After reading hundreds of postings from this group as well as ither forums, I reached a quick conclusion that the best bet was to go with a 7.3 powered truck. I started off loking through CL, Autotrader, and some of the larger diesel dealers around the Central KY and S. Ohio areas looking for a decent deal on a 7.3. First and foremost I was astounded by the prices that I was coming across for these trucks when I was actually able to find one. In the past week, I had an 03 and an 02 sold out from under me. The 02 was actually picked up by an older couple that drove all the way down to Lexington from Cleveland and paid full asking price.