Newbie here with a 2000 that won't start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2011, 07:48 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Newbie here with a 2000 that won't start

Hi guys, I'm trying to help a neighbor out with a 2000 Ford F350. It's a 7.3 Power Stroke. He started it up the other day, made it a mile down the road and it lost power and seemed like it was running out of fuel, he downshifted, then it just shut off completely.

I was told by a friend that those symptoms pointed to the cam position sensor, so I picked up a new Borg Warner cam sensor and installed it for him this afternoon. It would try to fire but never stay running. While cranking, it would sound like it was firing momentarily then go right back to cranking. I pulled the fuel filter cap, and I noticed it was pressurized when the seal released - if that means anything. The filter didn't look great so I picked up a new fuel filter, filled the housing with diesel, and put the new filter in. Cranked it again and the truck started momentarily and ran poorly for a few seconds, then went back to the same thing where it seemed to fire a little bit about every second.

I've been searching around and mostly getting confused, but did pick up on a few things to check, so here is a bit more detail on that:

- Fuel tank is 3/4 full
- Engine oil is surprisingly clean and to the top of the hash on the dipstick
- I checked for codes with my ScanGauge II, No Codes Stored
- Wait to start light is functioning normally
- When I turn the key on I hear the fuel pump run for 20-30 seconds

Looking for advice on what to check next. Don't hate me, I drive a Duramax and just don't know much about these engines. Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2011, 07:51 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!