Boost is missing - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:45 AM
Powered by Coors Light
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 281
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boost is missing

I just installed my boost gauge and started up. zero boost. Went back and found that I overtightened both connections at the gauge and the AIH plug. Replaced both of the little brass bullets that slip over the hose and can blow air from both sides so I know there is no kink in the line. still no boost.

Next I went to the source. AIH delete plug and removed the fitting holding the boost line. Here is the weird part. At idle I cannot feel any real air coming out of the intake through this plug????

I blew on the back of the gauge and can get it to register a few pounds so I know it is not stuck.

7.3 2001 What did I miss???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:50 AM
The Tamed Racing Driver
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Home-Taneytown, Maryland; School- Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You won't have any boost at idle, or if you rev it up. You need a load to make boost. Did you drive it around?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-15-2011, 12:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Royal, IL
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea.. You need to drive it to build boost. Try going down the road and giving it some throttle to see if you get any
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-15-2011, 12:00 PM
Powered by Coors Light
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 281
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by late_99_PSD View Post
You won't have any boost at idle, or if you rev it up. You need a load to make boost. Did you drive it around?
No I have not... I feel a bit foolish now.
Thanks for the tip. I will give her a go and post later my results.

Thanks again for the quick reply. My mind is a little more at ease now!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-15-2011, 02:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 421
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
haha i did the same thing when i first installed my guages lol. WTF is this thing broken or what haha.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-15-2011, 02:19 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyRhin0 View Post
No I have not... I feel a bit foolish now.
Thanks for the tip. I will give her a go and post later my results.

Thanks again for the quick reply. My mind is a little more at ease now!
Lol, it's not like anyone would razz you about it.












Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-15-2011, 06:15 PM
Powered by Coors Light
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 281
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok so I drove it and it works fine. Got around 5 lbs driving on highway. When I jumped on it the gauge shot up to 16 or so and then leveled off. I don't have a chip so this seemed about right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-15-2011, 06:23 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 11,965
Thanks: 23
Thanked 135 Times in 129 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep - That's about what I get. I'm not chipped or programmed either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-15-2011, 06:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Royal, IL
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep, Your goin good now. Now you just need a programmer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:19 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Riverside/Norco, Ca
Posts: 3,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
HAHA it happens.. mine has popped off a few times, zip tied it in now, anyway yes thats about right, i can hit 16 lbs without trying lol, get some tunes, i nail 25 easy now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors