100+ MPH Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2007, 02:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 100+ MPH Question

Ok so yesterday I was in the process of demonstrating to the hapless owner of an "official pace truck" Dodge 1500 just how slow his truck really is. It was going splendidly and I was watching his little truck disappear into my rear-view when my truck starting doing something it has never done before. I'm not sure how fast I was going but I'd been pegged on 100 for maybe 5 seconds or so, so I figure I was going about 110 or 115 maybe. What happened is my wastegate started popping open in rapid succession like "psssh pssssh pssssh" in very steady pulses. I immediately got out of it and slowed down. The truck drives totally fine. Is this just some type of speed limiter in the stock computer? I'm running all stock turbo and wastegate and the wastegate is hooked up. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-20-2007, 03:47 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by cblackb View Post
Ok so yesterday I was in the process of demonstrating to the hapless owner of an "official pace truck" Dodge 1500 just how slow his truck really is. It was going splendidly and I was watching his little truck disappear into my rear-view when my truck starting doing something it has never done before. I'm not sure how fast I was going but I'd been pegged on 100 for maybe 5 seconds or so, so I figure I was going about 110 or 115 maybe. What happened is my wastegate started popping open in rapid succession like "psssh pssssh pssssh" in very steady pulses. I immediately got out of it and slowed down. The truck drives totally fine. Is this just some type of speed limiter in the stock computer? I'm running all stock turbo and wastegate and the wastegate is hooked up. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
I do not see any chip, or programmer in your signature. There for I would have to believe what happened was is your speed limiter kicked in. Get a custom chip like ts-6 or dp tuner, tony wildman, or another quality one and you will not have that problem no more.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-20-2007, 05:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I see, ok good, at least nothing is wrong w/ the truck, thanks for the response!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-20-2007, 05:20 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,564
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcountrysg View Post
I do not see any chip, or programmer in your signature. There for I would have to believe what happened was is your speed limiter kicked in. Get a custom chip like ts-6 or dp tuner, tony wildman, or another quality one and you will not have that problem no more.
, but keep an eye on the Tach and your temps when you get going that fast though
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-20-2007, 05:21 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by cblackb View Post
I see, ok good, at least nothing is wrong w/ the truck, thanks for the response!
I bet your truck kinda jerked a bit too. The noise you heard was the waste gate opening when the truck speed limiter kicked in and defueled the truck until it got down below the speed limiter setting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-20-2007, 06:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep I agree, that's exactly what happened. I don't drive that fast hardly ever, usually I let off around 85 maybe 90 when I'm playing w/ it but I was having too much fun blowing this guys doors off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-20-2007, 07:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Big Cypress Indian Reservation
Posts: 2,756
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You don't have a chip or programmer and you still went over 100 mph. I don't believe it. The factory speed limiter is set at 94. When you hit the limiter it doesn't do like gas engines where it starts and stops. On our engines the computer gives just enough fuel to hold it at 94. So without something to turn the limiter off how can you go over 94????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-20-2007, 07:44 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,564
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilredpowerstroke View Post
You don't have a chip or programmer and you still went over 100 mph. I don't believe it. The factory speed limiter is set at 94. When you hit the limiter it doesn't do like gas engines where it starts and stops. On our engines the computer gives just enough fuel to hold it at 94. So without something to turn the limiter off how can you go over 94????
He could have bigger tires on it, maybe....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-20-2007, 07:53 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilredpowerstroke View Post
You don't have a chip or programmer and you still went over 100 mph. I don't believe it. The factory speed limiter is set at 94. When you hit the limiter it doesn't do like gas engines where it starts and stops. On our engines the computer gives just enough fuel to hold it at 94. So without something to turn the limiter off how can you go over 94????
My speedometer would go to 100 and then my truck would do the same thing. Just because the speedo says your doing 100 does not mean your actaully going that fast. If you change your tire size that will throw off the speedo. There are alot of factors that are involved. I know when my speedo would hit 100 mph before I put my chip in my truck it would act the same way. Does that mean I was actually doing 100 no.

That is why I posted that it was his speed limiter kicking in and making his truck act like that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-20-2007, 09:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well, all I know is that I'm running stock sized tires and I've had my truck up to and over 100 a few times. In fact yesterday when this happened it hit 100 and certainly was still pulling hard and finally after about 5 seconds or so it hit the ceiling. I'm fairly certain that I've got a stock computer HOWEVER, the previous owner must have done something because there is a big sticker on my computer box that says "Diablosport" and picture of a Devil. I'm pretty sure it's stock though (or the existing chip is in stock mode?) cause I can't make smoke no matter how much I try. I've been meaning to pull it out sometime and look at it I just never have gotten around to it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors