Boost Gauge Install Help... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2011, 02:14 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Question Boost Gauge Install Help...

Ok, I want to make sure I'm clear on this...

I have the Glowshift Gauges with the "Drill/tap" style connector, (NOT the "T" fitting) and want to be sure of this info...

In this write up, it says to drill/tap here for the Boost sensor:

3-Gauge Install Pictures


How the heck do you get the shavings out? Do I have to disconnect everything and take it all apart just to tap this?

I understand the Exhaust probe is drilled upside-down and then vaccumed out to be safe.... but how the heck is this supposed to work???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-05-2011, 02:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: london ontario
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not sure about the 7.3 but on my 6.0 i took the whole intake off to be sure there were NO shavings .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-05-2011, 05:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know about turbos, but I had a delicate situation with hydraulics that need to be tapped. I used grease (axle grease I think) on the tap and in the tap flutes, did a few turns, pulled out the tap, cleaned it, re greased it and repeated until I was done. I did the same thing with the bit to drill the hole, but it was a brand new cobalt bit (rigid brand from home depot) and used low gear at slow RPMs on the drill. I did this AFTER the fluid filter (so the filter would not have caught the shavings) its been 2 1/2 years and no seal problems. I normally don't do stuff like that, (normally I would undo everything remove the hydraulic cylinder,etc.) but I was on the spot in the middle of a job. don't know ho well it would work in your situation but its an idea. Good luck.

Last edited by KnockingDiesel; 03-05-2011 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-05-2011, 06:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Smyrna,DE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pull the inter-cooler tube off then stuff a rag in there past where the hole is drilled. After you drill & tap hole vaccum the shavings out then pull the rag out. You'll probably have to pull the IAH element out of the intake also. I'd say screw all that & put a T in the MAP line, that's where I put mine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-05-2011, 06:14 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj45lc View Post
Pull the inter-cooler tube off then stuff a rag in there past where the hole is drilled. After you drill & tap hole vaccum the shavings out then pull the rag out. You'll probably have to pull the IAH element out of the intake also. I'd say screw all that & put a T in the MAP line, that's where I put mine.

Yeah... well... I dont have the sensor or other stuff for the "T" line... its a digital gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-05-2011, 08:11 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Carbondale, CO.
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Why not just delete the AIH and use a plug tapped for your sensor?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-05-2011, 08:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DND58 View Post
Why not just delete the AIH and use a plug tapped for your sensor?
Yeah, what he said... That's what I did to my yellow truck... bought a plug to fit the hole (it's metric, 22mm I think, almost 1/2" NPT) and tapped the plug for the 1/8" NPT boost line fitting... worked great for me, and got rid of the AIH...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-06-2011, 05:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Smyrna,DE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToMang07 View Post

Yeah... well... I dont have the sensor or other stuff for the "T" line... its a digital gauge.
What sensor? All you need is the T with the 1/8" comp fitting, it's the same reading in the MAP line as you would get tapping the spider.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-06-2011, 05:51 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by DND58 View Post
Why not just delete the AIH and use a plug tapped for your sensor?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselcrawler View Post
Yeah, what he said... That's what I did to my yellow truck... bought a plug to fit the hole (it's metric, 22mm I think, almost 1/2" NPT) and tapped the plug for the 1/8" NPT boost line fitting... worked great for me, and got rid of the AIH...
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj45lc View Post
What sensor? All you need is the T with the 1/8" comp fitting, it's the same reading in the MAP line as you would get tapping the spider.
Does deleting the AIH throw ANY codes?

Do you have to remove the whole thing? Any write-ups how to do it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,559
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's simple, unhook the wires, tape them up, remove the AIH, install plug. A 1/2" NPT plug can be used, but the threads are slightly off, and you bugger up the threads to where the AIH might not work again... I chose to get a plug with the proper threads, and drill/tap it to the 1/8" NPT fitting... basicly becomes a large reducing bushing, from 1/8"NPT to 22mm.

Will have diffrent issues with my early '99 truck, no AIH to delete, only option will be a "tee" in the MAP line...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors