pryometer problems? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2011, 09:23 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cullowhee/and tryon NC
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
pryometer problems?

ever since i got my truck a few months back if been fixing all the stuff thats been wrong. now im getting to the gauges. i have boost and egt . for some reason the egt has been on 4 since i got it. never moves even witht he switch is off. the light inside the gauge works at night so obviousy it has power. Any ideas what to check and where each of the wires should go? think i need a new gauge? thanks for any help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-2011, 11:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 439
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure which gauges you have or if any of the pyro gauges have a ground but that's the first place I'd check. I tend to remember my autogauge brand pyro having a solid yellow wire and maybe the probe in the manifold serves as a ground???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-03-2011, 08:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,414
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The backlight should come from the dash light circuit, and in no way should affect the gauge operation, and also doesn't indicate that there is power to the gauge where it needs it. The gauge should have the thermocouple (yellow and red) that goes to the probe, and also have (at the gauge) key-switched power and a ground. I am going by memory, it's been a few years since I hooked up the gauges in my yellow truck, and haven't done it in my red truck yet... however, I can look at my new gauge sitting in the box in the garage when I get home... it's an Autometer...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-03-2011, 01:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cullowhee/and tryon NC
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok i found the problem "(at the gauge) key-switched power and a ground" the power wire goes to a fuse and the out of the fuse to a plug and the plug is not plugged to anything. the ground is hooked up and so is everything else. where should i get power? just need a easy place to splice into
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-03-2011, 02:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 439
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

what brand gauges do you have? Autometer? If you have Autometer then I'll go my instructions on the power wire and get back to you. It's been so long ago so I don't wanna tell you wrong.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-03-2011, 02:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cullowhee/and tryon NC
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yea its autometer. and ok sounds good thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-03-2011, 04:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 439
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I believe this will do it for you. Let me know if this is what you're looking for.


3-Gauge Install Pictures
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-03-2011, 05:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cullowhee/and tryon NC
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yea thats what im looking for so hopefully i can find that plug. ill try it 2mrw and let ya know . thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors