Is a 7.3 a good idea? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2011, 10:22 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Smile Is a 7.3 a good idea?

I am currently a student so i cant afford anything fancy, however, a higher mileage diesel (100-150k) is in the cards. I'm looking for one next year in Arizona. My question is will regular maintenance (i always preform the best maintenance on my vehicles) on a 7.3 pay off considering reliability, MPG, and truck duration or should i just get another gasser. Thank you for you expertise.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-27-2011, 10:32 PM
scuffs *****

Send a message via AIM to Tyler
VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!
Old 01-27-2011, 10:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Higher mileage is all relative. I've been driving diesels for a while and suddenly 150k goes from "worn out gasser" to "barely broken-in diesel."

Go with a diesel and don't look back.
Old 01-27-2011, 10:52 PM
CSP Resident Spooby

Hell yeah it is! I'm in the same position, 19 year-old working and going to school full time.

I bought the '96 in my sig for $6,250 with a new tranny and 193k miles back in April of '10, and now at 204k she hasn't missed a beat, and runs like a champ!
Old 01-27-2011, 11:13 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

good reply's, what should i bolt on to it for increased mpg and durability? what kind of chip, intake, and exhaust should i go with for those 2 things? What are the costs of some repairs i might run into? What are the average maintenance costs, again i don't cheap it, i always go full synthetic etc. Thanks for answer so fast, i have had this on my mind for a while.
Old 01-27-2011, 11:18 PM
CSP Resident Spooby

Intake, exhaust, 6-position chip would be a good start, and give you a decent boost in power.