Powerstroke Noob - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2011, 07:17 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Powerstroke Noob

I am looking at purchasing my first diesel truck. I have a lot of experience with gas engines, but am completely new to diesel. I am looking at a 99 F250 Powerstroke. I've seen a lot of posts on what to look for and how to buy, but anyone with any advice geared towards someone new to diesel? also, I live in Wisconsin, where it is currently -2 degrees, and have some fears of getting a diesel with the weather that we can expect here. I would be able to plug it in most nights, and it would be kept in a garage, but what happens if I venture to camp where there is no electricity? or what about when I have to leave it at the airport for 3-4 days in this weather? I've seen all of the threads on conditioning the fuel, and check glow plugs and all that, but does it still have to be plugged in all the time when the temp is at 0? Also, any additional advice or tips would be greatly appreciated. j
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2011, 07:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

no it dont have to be pluged in. just make sure to let it warm up. on mine I dont move till the temp gauge moves. set aside from the GP system put some diesel kleen and you should be good to go
Old 01-20-2011, 07:37 AM
Super Moderator

Agreed - Not necessary to plug in, but it's nice to get in a truck that is already partially warmed up. If your GPR (glow plug relay) and your GPs are working, you shouldn't have any problems starting up without plugging it in. When ya do plug in, many recommend putting it on a timer set to come on 2-3 hours before you drive. Saves a bit of electricity.

Run a fuel conditioner, like Diesel Kleen, that has anti-gel components to it.

BTW -