tq lockup - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tq lockup

can someone explain tq lockup to me? what it does? how do you do it? is it hard on your truck ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-06-2007, 05:02 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,014
Thanks: 109
Thanked 94 Times in 86 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
the torque converter locks together kinda like a clutch and pressure plate for less slippage and more power. Is it hard on it no. it does it from the factory the function of the lockup switch is so you can control when it locks to aid in towing and to keep trans temps down
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-06-2007, 05:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 4,129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep..what Dave said. You can put it on a toggle switch or use something like the TS Performance Lockup kit that will automatically do it at certain speeds.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-06-2007, 06:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bend, Or
Posts: 6,088
Thanks: 29
Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is one of the best TC lock up controlers I have tried, I like it better then the ATS one...

www.spdiesel.com

The TS one is cool too, but I dont need that big arse display...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: tampa
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not to steal your thread but would it be possible just to make your own tc lock with a toggle switch you can just flip on and off for a lot less money. has any one done this
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 4,129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Many have done it, and yes it works. We were only showing other options for this fellow. I use to have a link saved to a website that showed you how to do this step by step. Can't find it. I'm sure someone will pitch in soon.

The TS display is not huge...you want huge by a Livewire! Thats huge. If the truck brakes down you can ride it home. lol!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-06-2007, 05:09 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amboy, Illinois 61310
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to SgtStroked7.3
i wanna know when someone remembers that site. a 3 dollar toggle switch is alot less than 329 dollars for a microchip.... exactly 326 less...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-06-2007, 05:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 4,129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
With the TS box you can adjust it to do everything automatically at certain speeds, turn it on and off with a switch, plus it is a trans temp gauge, blah blah blah. It is a good product, someone had to come up with it. lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-06-2007, 05:22 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amboy, Illinois 61310
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to SgtStroked7.3
i found a write up.. just yahoo "tc lockup switch 4r100"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-06-2007, 05:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 4,129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This would be the one I was thinking of. Torque Convertor Lock-up mod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors