General questions about the 7.3L - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2006, 12:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to jtomasik Send a message via Skype™ to jtomasik
General questions about the 7.3L

Sorry to start the new thread for this, but I asked the question and I'm thinking under the old thread it'll get buried before it gets answered. Here's the meat of it:

First, I used to be a mechanic, and I've worked on many different types of diesels from the old 5.7L GM's, Mercedes, Cummins (NT400's), Detriots, and Cats (3176's, 3208's, 3306's, 3406's, 3412's, even some 3500 and 3600 series engines). So, you can get pretty detailed and I'll understand (I think...hah hah).

What injector type is in this motor? Is it a unit injector, or is it just a fuel nozzle?

What is the replacement interval suggestion for those injectors/nozzles?

Although I've worked on many diesels, I've never owned any, before this one. What should I look for in the fuel? I only noticed one type of diesel offered. Are there actually different types? How about any additives?

Do any of the aftermarked bolt ons, like the airboxes or the fuel "chips", work well? I know fuel mileage will be one of my top priorities. I won't be hauling many heavy loads with the truck. Mostly, my son and I will use it to haul our dirtbikes (just two), and whatever riding gear we have. I will be operating the vehicle here in Colorado, at altitude. So, fuel mileage is really my top concern. Heavier hauling, such as trailers, will be rare. Oh, if those bolt ons come with added horsepower, I sure won't complain.